After-Thanksgiving Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
wow! this is my go-to soup for turkey leftovers. The thing I like most is that the cream base hides the cloudy soup and sometimes "stringy" turkey. The next time I make this I will however add an extra carrot and a celery stalk. I made a few modifications. I added a few pinches of thyme, a shake of poultry seasoning, some more chicken bouillon, about a cup of peas and a cup of corn. Gives it some extra taste and colour. I reduced the flour to 3/4 cup. The rice measurement is perfect. (I sometimes don't measure the rice and freehand it, and usually over-do it which makes it overly thick and takes away from it so measure the rice accurately). Oh, and I also use 35% whipping cream instead of half and half. Yum. And add the cream at the end when everything is done, and gently heat- do not boil the cream with the veggies. Thanks you for this winning addition to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Dawe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
Incredible!!! I was going to share this with a friend, but I think my family would get mad. I put in extra veggie and think I'll try potatoes the next time. I did step 3 in a crock pot as suggested, but the rice gathered together and was clumpy. We still loved it! ********update*****december 2007 Was going to try this with fat-free half and half, but read the ingredients. It's full of corn syrup and chemicals, so I went with the real half and half again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
This really was fantastic and EASY! I added double celery and carrot and another 1/2 cup of rice (Royal rice blend). My husband literally raved all night and made me freeze all the extra in small containers so he can take to work. I'd give it 6* if possible!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superstepmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
A good recipe. Not exactly sure how much stock I began with...I had a huge stock pot full to begin with, but ended up with a huge dutch oven full of soup with leftover stock to freeze... I did add one large clove of crushed GARLIC and two BAY LEAVES to the stock. I cut the butter WAY down to about 3 tablespoons, dissolved 2 bouillion cubes in a cup of water and added it with the flour, to the onion/carrot/celery mixture; used 1/2 of a very large onion; used only 1 cup of fat free half and half; I did add a bag of frozen vegetables, a small container of leftover STUFFING, (broken up), and used pastina instead of rice; did not include salt in my soup. Came out exceptionally well. My husband loved getting the tidbits of stuffing in his soup...and raved about the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gloucester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Wow. Excellent! I halved the recipe based on how much broth I made. I did not add the broth. This is a definite keeper! Yummy creamy turkey rice soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by domesticadmin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corsicana, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellaire, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
Absolutely wonderful recipe. I didn't need to add any spices as I used the herbed turkey recpie from this site as my holiday turkey. I also added some cut up white potatoes which added to the heartyness. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
i thought this was a great recipe! The only things i added to it were cooking wine & bacon grease. But other than that everyone one in my family enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BronzeBeauty
Home Town: Gingolx, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Prince Rupert, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
This was excellent. I didn't add rice or noodles or even the flour. My 19 month old who tends to be fussy loved it, so did my husband. I didn't have half and half, so I used whippping cream. It was amazing! I also added thyme and bay leaf to the boiling water, and used sea salt. I also added a can of corn. Yum, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Somerset, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
The BEST Turkey Soup I have ever eaten in my life. I actually hate turkey soup, but I needed to do something with leftover turkey I had. So Fixed this one. I didn't have any half and half so I used get ready Whipping Creme! If you like Turkey Pot pie, well this is better than that! My whole family loved loved loved this! Needed more salt for sure and I did add a pinch of garlic powder, around 1/2 teaspoon, in it as well. This will be a keeper in my house! Loved it thank you so much for sharing it with all of us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurses-r-angels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
This was fabulous. Brand names couldn't do better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 626) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States