After-Thanksgiving Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This was wonderful! First, I broke up the carcass into big pieces and roasted in the oven at 350 for about 1 1/2 hours turning occasionally. Once the carcass was cool enough to touch, I broke it up even more and put it into a large stock pot. Next, I covered the carcass with water (about 2-3 inches above the carcass), and added a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar and let sit for an hour. ( The apple cider vinegar pulls out more nutrients and flavor from the bones). I Then added carrots, celery, onion, and a few fresh herbs (Thyme, Rosemary, Parsley) and let the carcass simmer covered on med/low heat all night. By morning I had a rich, savory broth. I filtered the broth through a fine mesh strainer. I picked all the meat off the bones and reserved both the cooled broth and turkey in the fridge. Later I made the soup with the reserved broth and meat following the recipe almost exactly. I used Wild rice from Trader Joes and added two cups organic mixed cut veggies (carrots, corn, green beans) along with the fresh ones in the recipe. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I tweaked the recipe a little with less flour and half/half. Also added a box of uncle bens chicken with wild rice, made the flavor perfect with the rest of the stuffing, yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Eustace, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
To me, a good turkey soup starts with a good turkey. We made the Perfect Turkey from this site, and the drippings were so incredible. What we didn't use for the gravy on Thanksgiving, we saved and added it to the stock that this recipe made. We had some dark meat leftover also that we chopped up and added, since the carcass was pretty much picked clean when we started. SUCH a good soup -- hearty with lots of flavor! I've never had such a good turkey soup. We will be making this every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This soup was excellent. Only used one onion and fat free half and half and didn't change anything else. It was also easy to make. Will make it again the next time I have turkey. Might try this recipe using chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Perfect! I did make several changes though. After I made the stock, I halved the recipe. I doubled the carrots, and added some corn, green beans, garlic and sliced leeks. I also stirred in leftover Thanksgiving day gravy. I had heavy cream on hand so I didn't add as much as called for. Also used brown and wild rice. I seasoned the soup with a little thyme, rosemary, a bay leaf, and just enough lemon juice to brighten the flavors but not to add lemon flavor. I cut down on the butter as other people mentioned, but I just want to point out that the amount of butter and the amount of flour together are a roux and changing the ratios affects the thickening strength, so you can change accordingly. This was great, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This is delicious soup! I took the advice of reviewers and used half the butter, half the flour, a rosemary sprig and bay leaf in the stock, and twice the vegetables (half to make the stock the other half to add texture to the soup). Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Stuck pretty much to the recipe. Only added garlic. So very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
A wonderful soup! It's my new favorite solution for Thanksgiving leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Soooo comforting and satisfying! This is a new after-thanksgiving tradition in our house. I followed the recipe to the letter. Make sure to stir the soup quite often though, as the rice has a tendency to stick to the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Balaun

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I love, love, love this soup! I look up this recipe every time we have a turkey carcass! I do buy a marinated turkey breast, saute it in pieces and then grind it up to add to the soup, I just love it with extra meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 627) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States