After-Thanksgiving Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This was good! I roasted the carcass and added garlic like someone else did here! However! It did taste like something was 'missing'. So, hubby and I kept adding poultry seasoning and salt at the end. Then the last add...I added more garlic powder. Hubby LOVED it! Will make this in the future! Maybe trying chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Unbelievably good! I had been avoiding all the soup recipes, but I had so much leftover turkey that I ran out of other ideas. But this was by far the best meal I tried with my leftovers. I had thrown away the turkey bones a few days earlier, so I used a large can of chicken broth (for a half-recipe). And my husband doesn't like celery in things, so I skipped that. I added chopped up mushrooms instead. To be a bit healthier, I substituted olive oil for half the butter and milk instead of half-and-half. I'm sure it's even better with all the butter and cream. I will be sharing this recipe with all my family and friends. And I can't wait until we cook a turkey again someday just because of this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Fabulous! I'm sorry, but I did change a few things... I used 1/2 the butter; 1/2 the flour (used quinoa flour); added a parsnip. Used an organic wild rice/brown mix. It was delicious! Hubby said it's so different from my usual turkey soup - said to keep the recipe! I am! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
If you are willing to take the time this soup is absolutely worth it. I gave a huge bowl away to two luck folks and still had a pot in the fridge and one in the freezer for later. I made no changes to the recipe and I can't express how delicious it was. We served it over warm biscuits as it has a great stew quality to it. Absolutely fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Delicious soup recipe!! Easy to follow and it was delicious. I altered the recipe, like I always do. I didnt add as much onion and I used half evaporated milk and the rest half and half. My husband just loved the flavor and we had it for about three nights straight. Awesome recipe, look forward to doing this recipe again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
very good,,made about the same,added leftover peas,corn ,butternut squah ,,added 2 tbl cream sherry,,about 1/4 teas of bell seasoning,,made the cheddar bay biscuits on site OMG,,with those added alittle old bay, to dough and butter mix,,EXCELLENT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This is a nice change from your 'regular' leftover turkey soup. As someone else has mentioned, do not add the 1/2 and 1/2 until after your rice has cooked for a while. You do not want to boil this soup after you add it. I made that mistake (because I was making it in a rush), but I knew right away afterward! I took it off the stove and the next day left it in the crock pot all day on low and the rice cooked and it was perfect. Oh, I also threw in about a 1/4 cup of cooking sherry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VOGTIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Geneva, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This was one of the best soups I've ever made! The only addition was to put some chicken paste seasoning (it's in a jar by soup stock) in with turkey carcass and towards the end I stirred in some leftover mashed potatoes which was creamy and goooooooood! Very filling too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Esposito

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
My family LOVED this recipe! I followed it exactly, except for the following changes: only 2 onions (all I had), added about 1/4 lb chopped baby bella mushrooms when sauteeing vegetables, and added fresh thyme. A nice creamy and hearty soup. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Great soup! I didn't have half and half so used 2 percent (healthier) and I threw in a bag of corn which gave the soup nice texture/flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 627) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States