After-Thanksgiving Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This soup was incredible! Instead of using regular half and half, I used fat free, and it tasted great! And, another change I made was to put all the vegetables in the food processor, instead of dicing everything. My husband thought it was my "finest work ever"!! I thought so too! Try this soup, it's amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
264 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
Excellent soup! I roasted the turkey carcass in the oven for 30-45 minutes at 400 degrees (turning frequently not to burn) before boiling it to give it more flavor. I also added brown rice (healthier), minced garlic, fat-free half & half, and corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
233 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
This is SOOOOO good! So yummy and so unique. I changed it a little bit- I omitted the celery (because I personally hate it), reduced the onions to 2, substituted brown rice medley for the white rice (has barley grains & stuff- similar to a wild rice mix...you can get it at TJ's), reduced the salt and pepper a bit so I could add my favorite Montreal steak seasoning, also added a little garlic powder and thawed frozen peas and that's it! One other thing I would suggest...I waited until after everything had simmered and the rice was tender to add the half & half and peas, then I just heated it up (but didn't boil it). I'm not sure how much of a difference it makes, but I never boil the dairy in cream soups. TRY THIS RECIPE! You will not be disappointed. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
I made this soup with a left over breast carcus that I cut filets out of. I added an additional carrot and used non fat half and half ti lighten the recipe a bit. I recommend that you make this soup 2 days ahead of time as it gets better by sitting. Serve with a loaf of hot crusty braed and you have a great cool weather meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
The BEST Turkey Soup I have ever eaten in my life. I actually hate turkey soup, but I needed to do something with leftover turkey I had. So Fixed this one. I didn't have any half and half so I used get ready Whipping Creme! If you like Turkey Pot pie, well this is better than that! My whole family loved loved loved this! Needed more salt for sure and I did add a pinch of garlic powder, around 1/2 teaspoon, in it as well. This will be a keeper in my house! Loved it thank you so much for sharing it with all of us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurses-r-angels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Excellent soup. I cut way back on the butter, using approx, 2 T, and did not add the flour or the cream (trying to atone for my caloric sins) and it was perfectly fine without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Westford, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
REALLY EXCELLENT soup! My husband was kinda "iffy" on it but he's not someone who considers soup to be a meal. Previous reviewers were right when they say this actually tastes better a day or two after you cook it. It seems to get thicker and richer. I don't think I would make this with just turkey stock if I didn't have a turkey carcass to make it with because I think the simmering of the soup with the carcass really makes the flavor of this soup. This will definitely be a recipe I make after every turkey I cook. I'm already looking forward to making it again with our Christmas turkey! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Berger DeRespinis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springboro, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
A good recipe. Not exactly sure how much stock I began with...I had a huge stock pot full to begin with, but ended up with a huge dutch oven full of soup with leftover stock to freeze... I did add one large clove of crushed GARLIC and two BAY LEAVES to the stock. I cut the butter WAY down to about 3 tablespoons, dissolved 2 bouillion cubes in a cup of water and added it with the flour, to the onion/carrot/celery mixture; used 1/2 of a very large onion; used only 1 cup of fat free half and half; I did add a bag of frozen vegetables, a small container of leftover STUFFING, (broken up), and used pastina instead of rice; did not include salt in my soup. Came out exceptionally well. My husband loved getting the tidbits of stuffing in his soup...and raved about the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gloucester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
This soup is the bomb! Wow! Just made it today for dinner and it was delicious. I never usually do anything with my leftovers from Thanksgiving, but this soup gave me an excuse to try. I followed the suggestions of alot of people and used fat free half and half, and it turned out great. I also used a can of cream of potato soup to cut down on the amount of flour. It was amazing! Now I know what I will do with my leftover Christmas turkey. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
FABULOUS SOUP!! This was so easy to make and exceptionally good to eat! I used fat free half and half and extra veggies. I also added a clove of garlic and some sprigs of fresh rosemary and thyme to give it an extra flavor boost. serve with a loaf of crusty bread... YUMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 625) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States