After-Thanksgiving Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
To me, a good turkey soup starts with a good turkey. We made the Perfect Turkey from this site, and the drippings were so incredible. What we didn't use for the gravy on Thanksgiving, we saved and added it to the stock that this recipe made. We had some dark meat leftover also that we chopped up and added, since the carcass was pretty much picked clean when we started. SUCH a good soup -- hearty with lots of flavor! I've never had such a good turkey soup. We will be making this every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This soup was excellent. Only used one onion and fat free half and half and didn't change anything else. It was also easy to make. Will make it again the next time I have turkey. Might try this recipe using chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Perfect! I did make several changes though. After I made the stock, I halved the recipe. I doubled the carrots, and added some corn, green beans, garlic and sliced leeks. I also stirred in leftover Thanksgiving day gravy. I had heavy cream on hand so I didn't add as much as called for. Also used brown and wild rice. I seasoned the soup with a little thyme, rosemary, a bay leaf, and just enough lemon juice to brighten the flavors but not to add lemon flavor. I cut down on the butter as other people mentioned, but I just want to point out that the amount of butter and the amount of flour together are a roux and changing the ratios affects the thickening strength, so you can change accordingly. This was great, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This is delicious soup! I took the advice of reviewers and used half the butter, half the flour, a rosemary sprig and bay leaf in the stock, and twice the vegetables (half to make the stock the other half to add texture to the soup). Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Stuck pretty much to the recipe. Only added garlic. So very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
A wonderful soup! It's my new favorite solution for Thanksgiving leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Soooo comforting and satisfying! This is a new after-thanksgiving tradition in our house. I followed the recipe to the letter. Make sure to stir the soup quite often though, as the rice has a tendency to stick to the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QDsMaMa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I love, love, love this soup! I look up this recipe every time we have a turkey carcass! I do buy a marinated turkey breast, saute it in pieces and then grind it up to add to the soup, I just love it with extra meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
this soup is awesome! i didnt add the boullion but it didnt matter, i added some herbs and salt and pepper and it was amazing. i like chunks of carrot, but not chunks of onion or celery, so i sauteed the onion and celery seperately and then pureed that. i sauteed the carrots, added the pureed onion and celery, and then added the flour and broth. i also used jasmine rice instead of long grain and it still came out great. after regrigerating, it does get very thick, but once its reheated its back to its creamy delicious texture again. the only negative is that it took forever to pick all the little bones out of the meat that fell off the carcass. anyone have an easier way to do this? great recipe - will be a new thanksgiving tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
really good! my only complaint would be that as the soup cools off, it got a little curdled looking...possibly I did something wrong, but I followed the recipe. However, regardless of that fact, the taste was really good and not at all like a typical soup that I would normally make. My kids and my husband all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 625) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States