After-Thanksgiving Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Best turkey recipe EVER!! I renamed it Turkey Stew. I cooked the whole carrots, celery and onions with the carcass then snipped the carrots and celery into the soup with a small handfull of dried minced onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Ulla, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I made this recipe 'as written' the first time. It was very good. The 2nd time, I added extra carrots, celery and onions and montreal steak seasoning. I also used orzo instead of rice. I didn't realize until after that I accidently left out the half n half. It was outstanding! I have also made this recipe with chicken. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I read a review that said if you like turkey pot pie you will love this...that is because it is very similar to that. I would actually call this cream of turkey soup. It would be excellent served in a bread bowl like clam chowder. I stuck to the recipe verbatim, except I needed to add a little salt. Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This soup was very good. I used fat free half & half and it was fine. Next time I will use half the butter and add a little more salt and/or more chicken bouilllon. I added a tiny bit of tarragon too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I have made this soup for two years now and am working on my third. It is so good, it never lasts past the second day, just like my other Thanksgiving leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Superb. I've made this twice now, after Thanksgiving and now days after Christmas. This time I subsituted 2 chicken breast, cubed & skillet cooked. Also added some thyme and sage, used 7qts chicken broth, a bit more salt and white pepper. Made a delicious cream of chicken & rice soup too. My loaf of homemade herb bread went perfectly too! I love this very delicious and versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thekid67

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sylmar, California, USA
Living In: Livingston, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
amazing!!!! easy to make and well worth the wait..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by serenazullo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Thanks for a great recipe. My picky 10yr old even asked for more. It's good even for "non-soup" eaters. Anyone who likes chicken or turkey pot pie will like it. I made minor changes just to use what I had on hand. Had no carrots, used mixed frozen veggies, used brown rice, half a cup only, and cut both cream and butter in half,but added in a cup of leftover mashed potatoes. It was wonderful, and as others said, it improves the next day. This will be something that I make again and again. I do think it would be wonderful with wild rice, and another reviewer mentioned using broccoli which I also think would be a great variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Just made this with my leftover deep fried turkey carcass just as the recipe was written. YUMMY! Husband totally loved it and so did I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
exstreamly flavorful, wish I had made more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vince Cady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lennox, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 625) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States