After-Thanksgiving Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
this soup is awesome! i didnt add the boullion but it didnt matter, i added some herbs and salt and pepper and it was amazing. i like chunks of carrot, but not chunks of onion or celery, so i sauteed the onion and celery seperately and then pureed that. i sauteed the carrots, added the pureed onion and celery, and then added the flour and broth. i also used jasmine rice instead of long grain and it still came out great. after regrigerating, it does get very thick, but once its reheated its back to its creamy delicious texture again. the only negative is that it took forever to pick all the little bones out of the meat that fell off the carcass. anyone have an easier way to do this? great recipe - will be a new thanksgiving tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
really good! my only complaint would be that as the soup cools off, it got a little curdled looking...possibly I did something wrong, but I followed the recipe. However, regardless of that fact, the taste was really good and not at all like a typical soup that I would normally make. My kids and my husband all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Pierce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I am giving this recipe 5 stars simply for the idea alone! I make chicken stock all of the time out of the carcasses from the rotiseirrie chickens that I buy from the store. I made the turkey stock yesterday and today I started the soup with the Cream Soup Base Recipe found on this website. I also added some leftover gravy as opposed to the bouillon granules. I also added garlic granules for some flavor, although my family seem to think it was missing something probably the salt! I don't use a lot of it. I thought it had great flavor just from the stock and the gravy. I also used brown long grain rice, which was great! Thank you for this wonderful idea. I have been discarding turkey carcasses for over 15 years and I am so sorry that I have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Presecky Fetting

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
So good! I actually didn't use any cream, flour or butter. Instead, I added a cup of leftover mashed potatoes to the soup to thicken it up. And of course added extra veggies! The turkey carcass is what gives this soup great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I've never considered cream in my turkey soup before. I decided to give this recipe a try and what a pleasant surprise! It was delicious. The flavor is worth the extra calories from the half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
First time making this one. So far as I'm tasting during the cooking, Awesome! I like the creamy flavor for a nice change of pace. I added a bit of sherry. I wanted to add cream sherry but didn't have any handy. I think this is going to be a keeper. You do have to season to taste or it could be bland. I'm going to cook the rice as a side so I can freeze the leftovers and try with pasta for the next meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This soup is absolutely delicious. The only things I did differently was to throw in some corn left over from Thanksgiving dinner and change the chicken bouillon granules to two vegetable bouillon cubes crushed. Big hit with my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKutz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Great use of left over turkey...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This was an excellent turkey soup... I had left over chicken and threw that in as well... added the peas and thyme and that soup was delish...... I will make this one every time I have a turkey carcass.... thanks so much for sharing the recipe and providing reviews that give other ideas as well.... Awesome....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This was awesome! I cut back on the butter but did the rest and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 627) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States