African Sweet Potato and Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Perfect, just like the african soup I tasted in Hawaii. I loved it!!!! Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Turned out very rich--we ended up using it as a dip for bread as opposed to a straight soup. With a little more heat, it would be delicious over noodles. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Absolutely delicious. I love this soup and have made it many, many times. Changes I made: 1) Use only 1 tsp on very, very finely minced fresh ginger 2) I add ground chili peppers along with the cayenne 3) I don't use the ground peanuts (don't care for the texture) 4) I don't bother with the cilantro - it has so much flavor as it is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
This just tastes weird to me. I don't like the peanut butter taste in the soup. It over powers everything. It needs to be spicier or something. It is too rich. I am not sure. Wish I would have made another type of soup. Yuck....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAINTNMYNAILS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
SOUL SATISFYING! Especially in the winter. This is the recipe that has made me register with this site. I didn't have coriander by itself, so I substituted that, the cinnamon and cumin with a pre-mixed CURRY spice powder. Worked fine. Also, if you like your soup with a lot of chunks in it....just blend about 3 cups of it. I'M DROOLING NOW.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
Great soup! 1. Changed water to chicken broth and used only 2 cups. 2. Used a can of tomatoes instead of fresh (that's life). 3. Used about 4 tbls of crunchy peanut butter and cut out peanuts. 4. Added more cayenne; it needed a little kick. YUM! Healthful too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Great recipe! I did double the peanut butter and it was just as delicious! Great vegetarian recipe and very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
I'm SSOOO dissapointed with this recipe. It smelled heavenly while is was cooking - the aromas from the spices were incredible. Unfortunatly, the smells didn't translate to the taste, and now I'm left with a big pot of soup that I'm no too excited to have to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I loved this recipe! I used a 900 ml carton of vegetable broth instead of the water and added a 19 oz can of chickpeas. I used 2 medium-sized yams, rather than sweet potatoes, and I don't know how much they weighed. I only pureed about half of the recipe and then added 1/4c of dried black currants at the end and let it cook for another 5 minutes to plump the currants. Adding the fruit made this recipe similar to the Delicious Chickpea Curry (also on this site), but this was so much better with the peanut butter and chopped peanuts. Really good combination of flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
EXCELLENT! I used 2 pounds of sweet potato, subbed vegetable broth for the water, simmered uncovered, used 6 TBSP peanut butter (put it right in there in the food processor while I pureed the soup) and used a half TSP of cayenne - we like it spicy! I'll make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States