African Sweet Potato and Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by bokkie
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This was fantastic! It came out thick enough to make a hearty soup but not too heavy to eat as one (I've seen many peanut "soup" recipes that would be better served as a sauce). I made this with vegetable broth instead of water, without the cayenne (spicy is not popular in our house), and with 3 tbsp. of peanut butter and it was absolutely perfect - the cilantro on top is a must to accentuate and complement the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Yummy! Love mix of all my favorite things - cumin, cilantro, peanut butter, garlic, ginger, what more could you ask for? Have to admit I didn't blend mine cos I don't have a blender! and I'm sure its a whole different experience blended but its very very good - lovely mix of flavours :) :) :) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Absolutely amazing! I used vegetable broth instead of water the 2nd time I made it and I think it makes a huge difference. My BF said it's the best soup he's ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
My husband and I enjoyed this, though my daughter didn't care for it. The soup is rich and exotic, very filling. I doubled the amount of peanut butter and left out the cilantro because I don't like it. Garnished with a wedge of lime instead. I also used canned tomatoes, Rotel...since I didn't have fresh. Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Pretty good soup, I liked the blended airy texture. Not quite as good as the other African peanut soup recipe on this site though, in my opinion. Still good though. I garnished mine with freeze dried cilantro and served it with whole wheat bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This was absolutely delicious. I'm not a measuring cook, so I really seasoned this as I saw fit. It was very flavorful and exactly as I had remembered it from a restaurant where I first tasted it. The only thing that could have made mine better was ground coriander as the recipe called for. I only had whole, and had to crush it between a napkin with the side of my chef's blade. Also, this dish can be fantastic without peanuts. I made a separate dish for my daughter who is allergic to nuts, and she had seconds. My hubby, other daughter and I all thought it entirely a meal unto itself. No one asked for anything else with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This soup really grew on me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madenish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Made this into a backpacking recipe using instant mashed sweet potatoes, chunky peanut butter, and tofu. Delicious. A big hit with my 4 hungry male friends. I'm excited to follow the actual recipe now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
This recipe was delicious, but it took me two and a half hours to make! However, it was well worth the work and wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Couldn't taste the sweet potato at all, only the peanuts. I had to add more cayenne to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LLSANTIMORE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States