African Sweet Potato and Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This soup is wonderful if you wait a day before having so the flavors have some time to come together. I make over the weekend and have for lunch at work and it saves wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I made this last night. Very good - although I ended up adding more of the listed spices as it was initially bland -also I plan on making w/ vegetable broth next to make it more savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I work at a farmer's market and was given some extra sweet potatoes to go home with. This soup was so simple - I had all I needed already at the house. Chicken stock instead of water is a must and canned tomatoes work fine. I didn't have fresh peanuts at the house, but the soup was fantastic with the mild peanut taste from just the peanut butter - I probably used about a tablespoon or more extra. This soup tastes good with heat. I was out of cayenne and substituted a carrot-based hot sauce (would not used vinegar based tobasco type) this worked so good I'm taking out cayenne altogether and sticking with the sweet hot sauce. My guy's mother is a fabulous cook - but she also chronically adds salt, cream, pepper, or whatever else is around to EVERYTHING I cook. This soup - however - made her rave. Yes! One big point for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This soup was very thick and rich. It smelled very good while cooking, my husband thought I was making Indian muligatawny soup. It didn't taste bad, but was so filling that I could barely eat half a bowl. I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Its very good. Don't skip the cilantro. I put diced pickles jalapenos in it and it was even better for those of you who like things spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
My husband was crazy about this soup. I never thought of combining PB with sweet potatoes. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manitowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Nazianz, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This soup is fabulous and an excellent source of fiber and protein! I had it with some homemade whole wheat bread. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
The is outstanding if someone likes a bit of different flavors and peanuts. Some of family loved it but some did not. It is easy and flavorful but not for everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This is a great base recipe. I do make a few changes when I make it. I dice the carrot fine and sautee it with the onion and garlic. I also use garam masala and a little vindaloo seasoning instead of all the individual spices. I use 1 large (29oz) can of sweet potatoes and sometimes 1 smaller can (I think 15oz) if I want to make a large batch. I add a little chicken soup seasoning to the water (or chicken broth of I have some on hand.) I 1 small can of tomato sauce instead of the tomatoes as my husband and I are not huge fans of tomatoes. Also a little brown sugar to cut the acidity of the tomatoes. I don't bother blending it in a food processor, just chunk it of with the back of a wooden spoon or a potato masher. It's pretty quick and easy, doesn't take long at all to put together when done this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
made true to the recipe - really good and spicier then expected or my new cayenne powder is hotter than usual :-o
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Bradfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States