African Sweet Potato and Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Excellent! Made the recipe just as is and served with a brown/wild rice combination. Very filling, very good. I was a little heavy-handed with the red pepper so I'll tone that down a little and bring up the cinnamon/spice notes more, but on the whole, healthy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
More like 3.5. I made it as directed, replacing the water with half chicken broth and half veggie broth. It was birding, so I doubled the peanut butter and kicked up the spice. Still enh..but once I added the cilantro? Wow! The cilantro really makes the soup. My husband talked about "next time you make this," so I guess I will be making this again. Paired it with Asian glazed carrots, also from this site. A good match.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
I've never tasted anything like this before. Loved the mix of sweet potato, ginger and peanut butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I really enjoyed this soup. I do think it could use less peanut butter and the dry roasted peanuts would be better as a garnish. I also added more salt and pepper to suit my taste after dishing it up into bowls. Very nice and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This soup is amazing! I make it for our Farmer's Market and it always sells out quickly. I have to make it often because people come back asking for more. I add more of everything including potato's and spices but even if you follow the recipe to a 't' it's going to be delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Delicious ! an unusual wedding of hearty tastes on your palast ! It will defnitively be a treat again for some cold evenings or spicy lunches. The orange/green/red colours in the pan were looking so joyful that I serve this soup without blending it... A great success indeed ! thank you very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by darkZ
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
This was a really awesome ! Pretty easy to make and super delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This soup was interesting! I don't even know how to describe it. It kind of reminded me of a blend of peanut soup that was mixed with an Indian flavored soup. I was looking for a pureed soup to make in my Vitamix blender today, for lunch, and decided to give this one a try. I had sweet potatoes I already roasted in the fridge. I made 1/2 recipe. The only other change I made was using 1 can of diced tomatoes for the whole tomatoes and 1/2 the amount of ginger as I just find the flavor dominant in recipes. I still would have preferred to of reduce the ginger even further. The soup was creamy and thick. I sauteed the onion in the olive oil in a small pot on the stove until soft and then stirred in the garlic for about 30 seconds. I added it and everything else to the Vitamix machine and cooked on high for 9 minutes. 1/2 recipe yielded about 6 servings. It was fine with cilantro, but I honestly just liked it with a sprinkle of salt and pepper on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I absolutely love this recipe. It's a very hardy soup with a lot of flavor. I think once you've made it for the first time to make it again is pretty quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jtz
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Interesting concept. Note that in my version I omitted the peanut for cashews and the peanut butter for more cashews. I did not add salt, but rather added sea salt roasted cashews. Still needed salt. The texture is weird, the water called for is too much (and in my version I had about 20% more sweet potato and tomato than called for, but kept the water cited). This dish is rich, but lacking in something I can't quite figure out what. Cilantro is a must. Without cilantro, the taste is flat and earthy. Cilantro compliments and enhances it well. I think next time I will try it with vegetable broth over plain water. I think that is the missing dimension here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States