African Sweet Potato and Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
This soup is very good. It has such a unique combination of flavors. I love peanut butter so I doubled the amount called for and it turned out great. The leftovers actually tasted better the next day so I think next time I'll make it ahead of time, since it is fairly time consuming to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
Excellent recipe!! I added a little extra cayenne pepper because I like it spicy, but other than that it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
This is a really good vegetarian soup. If it is served with rice you get a complete protein. When I made it I substituted vege stock for the water, cooked it longer and blended it less. I think if i was making it for company I would blend it thoroughly and top it with a little fresh tomato along with the cilantro. It is a beautiful color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
Such a fabulous soup! I didn't cream the soup, just left it cooked as-is, and it was still so tasty! Rich, filling, and easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
Oh god, I love this recipe. I wouldn't change a thing. It doesn't need the cilantro if you don't want it, cause it has plenty of flavor on it's own. Just make sure you spice it to taste. Mmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
This is truly one of those warm happy soups -- especially if you like peanuts (which I do!). I've made it three times and gotten rave reviews each time. As one reviewer suggested, I used 4.5 cups vegetable stock (bouillion cubes work well, too) instead of water. I've also replaced the sweet potatoes with yams and had similarly pleasant results, and since I don't have a blender, I've always served it with the veggies whole. It's lovely with basmati rice or brown bread, and the cilantro garnish isn't necessary unless you're serving it to guests. It's definitely become one of my favorite meals - well worth the hour or so of preparation. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
I used the veggie broth instead of water and added 2 extra cloves of garlic. The soup was exceptional. It had a subtle, yet exotic flavor that reminded me of Indian food. Worth the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
I used a mix of chicken soup and water as the base and it brought out the flavor of the potatoes and peanuts. A previous reviewer mentioned vegetable stock as a base and that also seems as though it would work and make the vegetarians among you happy. Our family likes things rather spicy, and with additional cayenne it tasted a bit as though it were flavored by sate sauce. Another earlier reviewer mentioned that it was too much to eat a lot of. I plan to use this in cups, rather than bowls, for the first course of our Thanksgiving meal this year. Since the soup is very filling the cups don't have to be very full -- just garnished nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
I made this for my African studies course. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
Great recipe. Each ingredient added to the overall flavor which was delicate and complex. :o) I would note that the veggies may take more than 30 minutes to cook completely. Also, I made some small changes: left out ginger, used 1 can diced tomates in place of fresh, and used veggie broth instead of water. Really a nice meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States