African Sweet Potato and Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
This soup is very good. It has such a unique combination of flavors. I love peanut butter so I doubled the amount called for and it turned out great. The leftovers actually tasted better the next day so I think next time I'll make it ahead of time, since it is fairly time consuming to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
Excellent recipe!! I added a little extra cayenne pepper because I like it spicy, but other than that it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
This is a really good vegetarian soup. If it is served with rice you get a complete protein. When I made it I substituted vege stock for the water, cooked it longer and blended it less. I think if i was making it for company I would blend it thoroughly and top it with a little fresh tomato along with the cilantro. It is a beautiful color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
My husband, who is a native Moroccan, really enjoyed this soup. I found it to be quite "different" and sweet potatoes out of the context of "sweet" was new for me. I most enjoyed dipping bread in it. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
This recipe was kind of a let down. Everything about it indicates that I should have loved it, but I was disapointed --all those great flavors and they just kind of got muddied up and fell flat. Doubly disappointing because I spent significant time on it. Perhaps should have tried diluting it more--. Or maybe I should have used commercial peanut butter instead of the "natural" (just peanuts and a little salt)kind? Oh well win some lose some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
Such a fabulous soup! I didn't cream the soup, just left it cooked as-is, and it was still so tasty! Rich, filling, and easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
Oh god, I love this recipe. I wouldn't change a thing. It doesn't need the cilantro if you don't want it, cause it has plenty of flavor on it's own. Just make sure you spice it to taste. Mmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
This is truly one of those warm happy soups -- especially if you like peanuts (which I do!). I've made it three times and gotten rave reviews each time. As one reviewer suggested, I used 4.5 cups vegetable stock (bouillion cubes work well, too) instead of water. I've also replaced the sweet potatoes with yams and had similarly pleasant results, and since I don't have a blender, I've always served it with the veggies whole. It's lovely with basmati rice or brown bread, and the cilantro garnish isn't necessary unless you're serving it to guests. It's definitely become one of my favorite meals - well worth the hour or so of preparation. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
I used the veggie broth instead of water and added 2 extra cloves of garlic. The soup was exceptional. It had a subtle, yet exotic flavor that reminded me of Indian food. Worth the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
Awful. Just awful. I'm a sweet potato FANATIC, I love them in any form, so I was really excited about this recipe... but I was not happy with this soup at all. It wasn't smooth enough, even though I pureed it, and I just wasn't thrilled about the taste. It was more like a sauce than a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States