African Sweet Potato and Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This was fantastic! We used crunchy peanut butter and lightly salted crushed peanuts(plastic bag and hammer). We did add a little extra hots with crushed red pepper at the very beginning and extra cayenne pepper. We also used chicken stock instead of plain water. Next time we are going to shred the cilantro and add into the soup as well use it for presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARIAN and REBECCA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
If I had the option I would have given this 3.5 stars. It was ok but not fabulous. It seemed to be missing something but I'm not quite sure what. It was almost like the spices didn't quite come through. The cayenne at the end helped a lot but I'm not sure I will make this again. I think I will just continue to search for a better sweet potato soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This recipe was ok. It was easy to make and not bad. But it also wasn't great. Just unimpressive. I think I expected it to be a little spicier and I even added more cayenne than the recipe said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Perfect, just like the african soup I tasted in Hawaii. I loved it!!!! Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Turned out very rich--we ended up using it as a dip for bread as opposed to a straight soup. With a little more heat, it would be delicious over noodles. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Absolutely delicious. I love this soup and have made it many, many times. Changes I made: 1) Use only 1 tsp on very, very finely minced fresh ginger 2) I add ground chili peppers along with the cayenne 3) I don't use the ground peanuts (don't care for the texture) 4) I don't bother with the cilantro - it has so much flavor as it is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
This just tastes weird to me. I don't like the peanut butter taste in the soup. It over powers everything. It needs to be spicier or something. It is too rich. I am not sure. Wish I would have made another type of soup. Yuck....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAINTNMYNAILS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
SOUL SATISFYING! Especially in the winter. This is the recipe that has made me register with this site. I didn't have coriander by itself, so I substituted that, the cinnamon and cumin with a pre-mixed CURRY spice powder. Worked fine. Also, if you like your soup with a lot of chunks in it....just blend about 3 cups of it. I'M DROOLING NOW.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
Great soup! 1. Changed water to chicken broth and used only 2 cups. 2. Used a can of tomatoes instead of fresh (that's life). 3. Used about 4 tbls of crunchy peanut butter and cut out peanuts. 4. Added more cayenne; it needed a little kick. YUM! Healthful too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Great recipe! I did double the peanut butter and it was just as delicious! Great vegetarian recipe and very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States