African Sweet Potato and Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Delicious! I added an extra Tbsp of peanut butter (or two) and substituted one cup of chicken broth for one of the cups of water. I also added about a Tbsp of honey to bring out the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
very nutty, next time add the cilantro
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
I don't know what all the fuss is about with this dish. Just like a few other people said my husband and I found it bland, bland, BLAND. I used chicken stock in place of water, tried adding extra peanut butter and cayenne pepper. Nothing helped. We didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Rich, earthy balance of flavors between savory and sweet. Huge hit at a dinner party! Easy to make, and as with so many good soups, even better the next day ... A winner, for sure. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mohair.sam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This soup is wonderful if you wait a day before having so the flavors have some time to come together. I make over the weekend and have for lunch at work and it saves wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I made this last night. Very good - although I ended up adding more of the listed spices as it was initially bland -also I plan on making w/ vegetable broth next to make it more savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I work at a farmer's market and was given some extra sweet potatoes to go home with. This soup was so simple - I had all I needed already at the house. Chicken stock instead of water is a must and canned tomatoes work fine. I didn't have fresh peanuts at the house, but the soup was fantastic with the mild peanut taste from just the peanut butter - I probably used about a tablespoon or more extra. This soup tastes good with heat. I was out of cayenne and substituted a carrot-based hot sauce (would not used vinegar based tobasco type) this worked so good I'm taking out cayenne altogether and sticking with the sweet hot sauce. My guy's mother is a fabulous cook - but she also chronically adds salt, cream, pepper, or whatever else is around to EVERYTHING I cook. This soup - however - made her rave. Yes! One big point for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This soup was very thick and rich. It smelled very good while cooking, my husband thought I was making Indian muligatawny soup. It didn't taste bad, but was so filling that I could barely eat half a bowl. I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Its very good. Don't skip the cilantro. I put diced pickles jalapenos in it and it was even better for those of you who like things spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
My husband was crazy about this soup. I never thought of combining PB with sweet potatoes. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manitowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Nazianz, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States