African Sweet Potato and Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This soup is great, a little too sweet for me. Not sure what the sweetness is coming from but will try to reduce the peanut butter to see if it makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Delicious! I'm surprised other people thought this was bland - I thought the amount of spices called for was perfect. I'll definitely make this many times in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Yum! I love peanut soup and this was just what I was looking for. I used chicken broth instead of water as I don't like making my soups with water and I added a little bit of curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardenia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Even with all the spices and peanut butter, I found this soup to be very bland. Not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Love Love this. We added 2 TBS of heavy cream and it did round the taste together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I would double the cayenne, but my husband liked it as is. To me the flavor in general seemed a bit weak, although it smelled nice. Perhaps best if served alongside a red pepper flake shaker, so that each may adjust the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This smells amazing while it is cooking ... However, I was very disappointed when I "tried" eating it. I was not particularly fond of the "raw peanut" taste ... maybe I should have used the unsalted dry-roasted peanuts as a garnish instead of actually putting them in the soup. I followed this recipe exactly as written and had high hopes considering the reviews I read. I love the idea of this soup ... but I do not think I will be making this again. Sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie_LBGC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I saved this interesting recipe a few years ago but never made until a few days ago. Made it a day ahead to let the flavors meld and served it to my quilting mini-group for lunch -- without telling them the ingredients. It as a monster hit! Don't forget the fresh chopped cilantro sprinkled on top: it makes the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I REALLY liked this soup! I ate it almost everyday for a week! The combination of sweet potato and peanut is delicious. It was soooo "creamy" but it has no dairy in it! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurenmommyof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Daphne, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This soup is so good! The first bite is yummy and the flavors keep building as you go through the bowl. I will be making this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States