African Sweet Potato and Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Delicious ! an unusual wedding of hearty tastes on your palast ! It will defnitively be a treat again for some cold evenings or spicy lunches. The orange/green/red colours in the pan were looking so joyful that I serve this soup without blending it... A great success indeed ! thank you very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by darkZ
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
This was a really awesome ! Pretty easy to make and super delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This soup was interesting! I don't even know how to describe it. It kind of reminded me of a blend of peanut soup that was mixed with an Indian flavored soup. I was looking for a pureed soup to make in my Vitamix blender today, for lunch, and decided to give this one a try. I had sweet potatoes I already roasted in the fridge. I made 1/2 recipe. The only other change I made was using 1 can of diced tomatoes for the whole tomatoes and 1/2 the amount of ginger as I just find the flavor dominant in recipes. I still would have preferred to of reduce the ginger even further. The soup was creamy and thick. I sauteed the onion in the olive oil in a small pot on the stove until soft and then stirred in the garlic for about 30 seconds. I added it and everything else to the Vitamix machine and cooked on high for 9 minutes. 1/2 recipe yielded about 6 servings. It was fine with cilantro, but I honestly just liked it with a sprinkle of salt and pepper on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I absolutely love this recipe. It's a very hardy soup with a lot of flavor. I think once you've made it for the first time to make it again is pretty quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jtz
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Interesting concept. Note that in my version I omitted the peanut for cashews and the peanut butter for more cashews. I did not add salt, but rather added sea salt roasted cashews. Still needed salt. The texture is weird, the water called for is too much (and in my version I had about 20% more sweet potato and tomato than called for, but kept the water cited). This dish is rich, but lacking in something I can't quite figure out what. Cilantro is a must. Without cilantro, the taste is flat and earthy. Cilantro compliments and enhances it well. I think next time I will try it with vegetable broth over plain water. I think that is the missing dimension here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
This was just stunning--a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
what a delicious soup! wouldn't change a thing. my entire family loved it, and it was pretty easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
this is awesome! tastes great cold, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Even my 4 and 1 year old kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Now I really love this soup, but not as it is in the recipe exactly. I added a lot more peanuts and peanut butter and a tonne more spice. But the finished product is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by courteepoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States