African-Style Oxtail Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I made this recipe today following the instructions exactly and it came out so good my family ate seconds. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
This was really delicious, and I followed the ingredients to the letter. However, the 3 stars is because my pot started burning at the bottom, even though I stirred it well every once in a while. This was 1 hour EARLIER than the cooking time listed. Either it requires much more liquid or the cooking time is way off. I reallyyyy wanted to add baby potatoes to the dish when 30 minutes of cooking time was left... but after burning, there was barely any liquid left to cook potatoes with. While the bottom of the dish burnt, the oxtails didn't taste burnt at all (I was very happy that the star of the dish was OK!) but the sauce had a hint of burnt taste to it.. So, to prevent further burnt permeation, I transferred the oxtails and a bit of sauce to a separate serving dish. Ate with rice, and my hubby liked it - even though he isn't partial to oxtails. Will make again, this time I will cook it with less time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palm Desert, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
This is so very tasty. It is a bit time consuming, but so worth it I promise you. I've made it several times my family loves it. This is the only way I'll cook oxtail from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lonya

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This was great - I didn't change a thing. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I skipped the kidney beans because we didn't have any - but we loved this dish. Next time we make it we'll be sure to include them as I'm sure they add even more to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This is a very good stew i like cooking when i feel like it and i like to add my own little touch to stews I added 1/4teaspoon of ginger to the stew a tablespoon of brown sugar and i cook my onions with cinnamon be for adding them to my stew I had cooked some black beans the day befor with dryed onions and bacon I added them to the pot at the end of the cooking time juice and all i also cooked carrots in the stew D-lish I tell you.I will be making this one for a long time we ate it over a bed of Jambalaya cajun rice mix by vigro thanks for a great recipe. girlface
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Fantastico. Made this in the slowcooker and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I loved this! Fixed it exactly as written and did not make any mods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
The Oxtail Stew was wonderful. It had a very nice taste to it. This was my first time making this dish, which I will make again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I must admit that I adjusted the recipe quite a bit. Instead of bouillon, I used homemade broth. I made this a one pot wonder by sauteing the oxtails for about 8 minutes in a large stock pot. (mine seems to take the challenge well). Then I added carrots and celery (cause I love veggies) cooked them for a minute or two and then threw in 3 tsp garlic ( it mellows in cooking and I love the flavor). I left out the beans and cornstarch and extra water because with the added veggies, it didn't need thickening. I cooked the whole thing for 2.5 hrs and then served it over rice. My boyfriend, who had initially said "ew, tails" said this one is a keeper. I forgot how flavorful beef tails are. One would think 5 bucks a pound is a lot for them, but they are packed with flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Sonoma, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States