African-Style Oxtail Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Wow this was a big hit! This was my first time cooking oxtail, not to mention, I had never tried it before either. Wow was so good! The only thing I did different was add some carrots and an extra can of kidney beans. Doubt it did much to change the flavor, but 1 can didn't seem like very much and carrots because why not? :) Excellent recipe! Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I absolutely LOVED this stew! I replaced the kidney beans for the HEINZ baked beans, these thicken the gravy so there was no need for cornstarch! My husband and 2 year old loved it too. Will be making this again and I recommend this recipe!! OH BTW... i used a crock pot. I wanted to go take a nap ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I made this recipe today following the instructions exactly and it came out so good my family ate seconds. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
This was really delicious, and I followed the ingredients to the letter. However, the 3 stars is because my pot started burning at the bottom, even though I stirred it well every once in a while. This was 1 hour EARLIER than the cooking time listed. Either it requires much more liquid or the cooking time is way off. I reallyyyy wanted to add baby potatoes to the dish when 30 minutes of cooking time was left... but after burning, there was barely any liquid left to cook potatoes with. While the bottom of the dish burnt, the oxtails didn't taste burnt at all (I was very happy that the star of the dish was OK!) but the sauce had a hint of burnt taste to it.. So, to prevent further burnt permeation, I transferred the oxtails and a bit of sauce to a separate serving dish. Ate with rice, and my hubby liked it - even though he isn't partial to oxtails. Will make again, this time I will cook it with less time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palm Desert, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
This is so very tasty. It is a bit time consuming, but so worth it I promise you. I've made it several times my family loves it. This is the only way I'll cook oxtail from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lonya

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This was great - I didn't change a thing. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I skipped the kidney beans because we didn't have any - but we loved this dish. Next time we make it we'll be sure to include them as I'm sure they add even more to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This is a very good stew i like cooking when i feel like it and i like to add my own little touch to stews I added 1/4teaspoon of ginger to the stew a tablespoon of brown sugar and i cook my onions with cinnamon be for adding them to my stew I had cooked some black beans the day befor with dryed onions and bacon I added them to the pot at the end of the cooking time juice and all i also cooked carrots in the stew D-lish I tell you.I will be making this one for a long time we ate it over a bed of Jambalaya cajun rice mix by vigro thanks for a great recipe. girlface
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Fantastico. Made this in the slowcooker and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I loved this! Fixed it exactly as written and did not make any mods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Santa Fe Stew

A pantry-friendly meal that's ideal for weeknight dinners.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States