African Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2006
I lived in Kenya for 4 years and with a few small changes this was almost perfect! Omit the mushrooms, use chunky salsa for 1 of the cans of diced tomatoes, add fresh crushed peanuts after it is done, and use chicken broth not veggy broth. Also, spice the chicken (while browning) with garlic - fresh is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
242 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Clackamas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
Exceptionally chic and delicious! My boyfriend and I loved it and I brought it to a party and received the best comments by everyone. I added some sesame seed oil, fresh cilantro, shredded carrots, a sweet potato, and since I like things spicy I added a small jar of spicy salsa, finely chopped hot pepper, and used spicy olive oil. Since I added more I added more broth and used chicken broth instead. I used basmati rice and smooth peanut butter. I also topped it with sour cream and some cilantro. This soup is extraordinary full of flavour and I will make it over and over again. Try it-you’ll like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
I thought this was rather tasty. I cut the recipe in half, as there were only 2 people going to be eating it! On a whim, I added 1/4 tsp. of chili powder instead of the 1/8 it would have called for, and I did closer to a half cup of peanut butter. The extra chili powder was excellent. The extra peanut butter was ok, but what it calls for would be fine too. The only complaint I have is that I need about double the time to get the rice cooked-- 15 minutes wasn't nearly enough time. I will still make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anichka
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
Yummy, and easy to make. I love the peanut butter and red bell peppers together. Things I did differently or that weren't specified: I used Jif Extra Crunchy peanut butter because it was the only extra crunchy one I could find in the supermarket. I was afraid it would be too sweet (I usually buy natural nut butters), but it was fine. I might add a pinch more chili powder next time. Since I was using brown rice that normally takes 45-50 minutes to cook, I cooked it for about 30 before tossing it into the soup. Next time, I will probably up the rice to at least 3/4 cup, if not a cup. I did add the sour cream, but it is delicious when served alone, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
Delicious. Using a NATURAL peanut butter is a must for this recipe... natural has a more peanutty flavor suited better to this recipe. I used vegetable broth. I did make a few changes. I added a chopped jalepeno with the peppers; used tricolored peppers... mine turned out a little paler than the photo-- not the prettiest color, so I added a little bit of tomato sauce to darken it-- which I found improved the flavor. Even brought some to a friend from Ghana-- she thought this was tasty and very authentic (although she is used to creamy peanut butter herself.) Edit: Wanted to add that this is probably something you'll either love or hate. Very distinct flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
The five-star rating is for the inspiration. I'd never have thought of making this had I not come across this recipe. However, like many, I did make my own changes to give it more flavor. I added cinnamon, cloves, and crushed red pepper and increased the chili powder significantly. I also doubled the garlic just because I felt like it and added thinly sliced zucchini for more bulk. I found that the soup was very versatile and handled the changes and additions very well. Have fun with this recipe and make it your own. Oh, and the flavors definitely do get more intense with time. Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seattle Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
Wow -- this was my favorite new recipe I have tried recently. Both my husband and I loved it! I added the rice earlier and cooked it longer afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
As good as expected. I agree with others that spices can -- and should -- be increased. Certainly twice the chili powder, and a little cinnamon and/or cumin would be good too. I used various coloured bell peppers, all natural peanut butter, and white rice to cut down on the cooking time. Delicious. I bet it would be great with cilantro on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
This soup was delicious. I personally liked the crunchy peanuts, but my fiance didn't, so next time I will use creamy peanut butter. I added one cubed sweet potato in the 30 minute simmer stage, and I also used 10 minute brown rice to cut down on cooking time. It turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Havelock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States