African Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
awesime i couldnt get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Surprisingly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mystica

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This was quite good! I wanted to add some texture and fiber, so I added a can of garbanzo beans, a few stalks of celery, and a diced sweet potato. I used brown basmati rice, added with the second step, and cooked it for about 40 minutes. I had exactly 1 cup of rice left, so that's how much I added. I think the extra rice was a good thing, but I did end up having to add a little water before serving because it had thickened up considerably. I also doubled the chili powder and added 1/2 t cumin. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Excellent soup! Both my husband and I were pleasantly surprised how the different flavors came together so nicely. I also recommend using natural peanut butter. It turned out perfect, I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beachkris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I liked it, my husband thought it was too heavy. I would definitely make less next time because half a bowl is enough to fill anyone up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
We absolutely loved this soup ... I substituted carrots for the red bell peppers, salsa for half of the tomatoes, chicken broth rather than vegetable, used 1 cup rice, and added cumin (as others have suggested). The brown rice definitely needs to be pre-cooked for at least 30 minutes prior to adding. Highly recommend this as a winter 'comfort' food! Cilantro and sour cream, or peanuts, would be great toppings as well. Very simple to prepare, and very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunnymtnmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I didn't think I would like this as I was making it, but in the end it was pretty good. I made half the recipe, added more chili powder (dbl or triple at least) + a dash of cinnamon & threw in a little cooked chicken. Probably a bit more peanut butter too. It thickens up after adding the peanut butter. It is pretty tasty. I may try using salsa instead of the tomatoes. It does need a little more spice in my opinion. Overall, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LT511

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This soup tastes great! I loved it. So unique! The only change I made was to add 2 chili peppers instead of chili powder and because I only had smooth peanut butter I added walnuts to the soup. Loved the crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Too good! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Love this soup, give it a try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States