African Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I made this the other day and it tasted great! I used whatever ingredients I had on hand; can fire roasted tomatoes, chipotle pepper in Adobo sauce and a box of College Inn Thai Ginger broth. Added the peanut butter (super chunky) during the last 30 minute And let it do it's thing in the crockpot! Easy no must no fuss recipe! Freezes nicely, will be making again but not too soon! This isn't exactly waistline friendly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
An excellent soup. I tried to adhere strictly to the recipe, but did follow the advice of others and replace 1/2 of the tomatoes with salsa. Used chicken broth instead of vegetable, used natural chunky peanut butter, used quick cooking brown rice. Agree that chicken would be good. I think that I will add sweet potato next time as well. When I first tasted this right after preparing, it wasn't anything great. But, after it had been in the fridge for awhile, it was absolutely superb. My family made fun of me for making peanut soup, but they all said they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Love this recipe! It's an absolute favorite of mine. I made a couple slight changes. I add a full cup of peanut butter instead of the recommended 2/3 of a cup. I also cook the rice separately and I double the amount... I cook a full cup of brown rice and add it all to the soup after it's done cooking. LOVE LOVE LOVE this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
One of my favorite soups: easy to make, nutritious, delicious, and freezes well. What more could you ask for? For variety, I've tried substituting cashew butter--also great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
I love this soup so much that I buy red bell peppers whenever there's a really good sale (and then I chop and freeze them), so that I'll be able to make this soup whenever I want to, without having to pay the normal full price for red bell peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Took someone's advice and used half the crushed tomatoes and added about a cup of salsa. Also added a little bit of kale. It was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I love soups. They're so versatile, simple, and cheap to make. For just a few English Pounds this out and out delicious soup has become one of my top-ten! The only change I made was to include a tsp of Allspice ...Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Like many other reviews I added a bit as I was working and this recipe turned out DELICIOUS! I substituted one jar of salsa for one of the cans of tomatoes and doubled the chili powder as well as added a dash of cinnamon and a dash of curry powder to the soup. This soup turned out to be a hearty, spicy, vegetarian dish I would be proud to serve anyone! It's going into our rotation from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I added chili pepper flakes, as well as more chili powder than the recipe called for, based on other reviews. However, I added too many chili pepper flakes, so I added a can of coconut milk, which tamed the heat. The recipe was okay, but I feel that something else needs to be added to give this soup some oomph. Strangely enough, this soup reminded me of Campbell's tomato soup AND bean with bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Made this soup for first time today. Found it to be excellent. I substituted the bell peppers with Cayman Seasoning peppers, turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States