African Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I found this recipe (or a variation) on another site, and its ingenuity and versatility are what struck me most. It is completely versatile as long as you have rice, peanuts or peanut butter, tomatoes (canned, fresh, salsa...whatever), and some kinds of vegetables. I highly recommend using the onion/garlic, but the proportions aren't crucial. Other than that, what you add is up to you: bell peppers, hot peppers, mushrooms, potato, squash, carrots, celery, brocolli would all work. If you don't have vegetable or chicken broth, water and some (optional) salt does just fine. Chili powder is not necessary, and as others have said, various spcie combinations all work. If you're not comfortable making changes, the recipe as written is good, but might get boring ;-) Tip: base the cook time after adding the rice on the simmer time provided on the rice package directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
We liked this a lot. I let my onions & red peppers caramelize (because I was chopping the remaining peppers to freeze up) for about an hour before continuing the next steps. I used salsa for the crushed tomatoes & would do that again. I added fresh cilantro. I doubled the black pepper & chili powder because we like things spicy. I served this with grilled pb&j sammies on the side. Thanks very much, my mother made soup very similar to this when I was growing up, so this was a nice trip down memory lane :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
This soup blew my mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Villa Hills, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
This was really good, but if you use normal brown rice like I did, you'll have to simmer the rice for 45 minutes in the soup, I added it 15 minutes into the uncovered simmering, then simmered for 30 minutes covered. The flavor of this soup is fantastic! I used regular chunky Jiff peanut butter. I garnished with reduced fat sour cream, roasted peanuts, and freeze dried cilantro. The taste with the sour cream was almost cheesy, very good. The combination of flavors was delightful, not strange like one may expect. The whole family enjoyed this one, I will keep it in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Wow! This was awesome! I added extra chili powder, used a natural peanut butter, and added a pinch of salt. This one was definitely a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
A wonderful dish! Following the advice of others, I doubled the chili powder and added cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This is my new favorite soup recipe! Seen the ingredients, I wasn't too sure I would like it but I changed my mind as soon as I tasted it. Make sure to throw in some cilantro for added oomph!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I may be the only one who's taste buds prefer this, but I thought it needed some sugar added for a sweet and creamy peanut-y flavor. I added about a 1/2 cup sugar and also some salt, and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I added tomatoes to this recipe and omitted the rice, but I really loved the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Russellville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States