African Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Weird ingredients in this soup but so good! Dont let it scare you. It is a must try!! The changes I made was added 4 chicken breasts that was chopped and sauted in garlic and pepper, chicken broth, 16 oz jar of salsa and 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper and 1 cup rice. Most changes was because of what I had on hand. It is a nice and hearty soup and will make many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Enough peanut flavor and definitely better with the crunchy texture. I like the rice in there as well and the chili powder gives it a nice backbone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
What a great recipe. Like many other reviewers, though, I substituted and added one or two ingredients. In my case: quinoa for the brown rice (cooks in the 15 minutes suggested) and a whole lotta hot sauce (Sriracha). Organic peanut butter is definitely the way to go, especially with a bit of the separated oil that sits towards the top of the jar prior to opening. The result is a very unusual conglomeration of ingredients and effects-- unlike anything I've ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
BLAND. I even added a huge chopped sweat potato but the only real taste of anything was when you got a piece of the sweet potato in your spoon. I even upped the spices and doubled the peanut butter on the suspicion that this would be bland..no help. ..sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I add chicken to this, and it's probably my favorite soup ever! Very hearty and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This is one of my favorite soup recipes. It always gets a chuckle from whomever I ask if they would like some peanut soup, but when they taste it, they love it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Ridiculously good. The vegetarian I had over thought she had died and gone to heaven. I did make it a bit heartier by borrowing from another African peanut soup recipe; I added 1 yam, 1 drained can of black beans, and 1 jalepeno. I really liked the brown rice in this recipe and the texture it gave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This soup was amazing. Followed the recipe exactly using the chili powder. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKY M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I added some leftover chicken (dark meat) that I had on hand to add to the protein and it made a great dinner with bread and salad - particularly on a cool fall day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I found this recipe (or a variation) on another site, and its ingenuity and versatility are what struck me most. It is completely versatile as long as you have rice, peanuts or peanut butter, tomatoes (canned, fresh, salsa...whatever), and some kinds of vegetables. I highly recommend using the onion/garlic, but the proportions aren't crucial. Other than that, what you add is up to you: bell peppers, hot peppers, mushrooms, potato, squash, carrots, celery, brocolli would all work. If you don't have vegetable or chicken broth, water and some (optional) salt does just fine. Chili powder is not necessary, and as others have said, various spcie combinations all work. If you're not comfortable making changes, the recipe as written is good, but might get boring ;-) Tip: base the cook time after adding the rice on the simmer time provided on the rice package directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States