African Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I threw mine into a crock pot for convenience (low 6 hours, 1 hour on high uncovered to simmer down). I would reccomend putting the rice in a couple hours later so it doesn't over cook. I did double up on spices as others reccomend, and I am glad I did! Also, I would reccomend looking at how to make your own peanut butter, its easy (healthier) and a much more "peanut buttery" taste. Its super easy; peanuts, some oil and a good blender or food processer, voila! You can look up a recipe on here for home made peanut butter. I am only giving this 4 stars because I think it needs some thing more, it was lacking something. I think some sweet potato or squash would push it to 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Amazing! Has a Thai vibe, if you need context. I added jalapenos, used all green peppers, jasmine rice (but any will work), and topped with chopped cilantro. Everyone loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Riverstone-Newell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I love this soup. I did doctor it up somewhat, based on comments and reviews. I added a yam, upped the rice content, doubled the spice, added some cumin and used chicken bullion cubes. I might use fresh chicken next time. I don't have any sour cream to put on top. I try to keep fat content down, so perhaps I will get some low fat yogurt and try that instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Amazingly delicious!!!!!! Easy to make. Made a huge pot for a party and came home with an empty pot. Everybody loved it. Thanks you so much for this recipe, it will be a staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie Hodawanus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Just the way I remember it! Made it exactly by the recipe, except blended soup so that it was smooth prior to rice and peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Weird ingredients in this soup but so good! Dont let it scare you. It is a must try!! The changes I made was added 4 chicken breasts that was chopped and sauted in garlic and pepper, chicken broth, 16 oz jar of salsa and 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper and 1 cup rice. Most changes was because of what I had on hand. It is a nice and hearty soup and will make many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Enough peanut flavor and definitely better with the crunchy texture. I like the rice in there as well and the chili powder gives it a nice backbone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
What a great recipe. Like many other reviewers, though, I substituted and added one or two ingredients. In my case: quinoa for the brown rice (cooks in the 15 minutes suggested) and a whole lotta hot sauce (Sriracha). Organic peanut butter is definitely the way to go, especially with a bit of the separated oil that sits towards the top of the jar prior to opening. The result is a very unusual conglomeration of ingredients and effects-- unlike anything I've ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
BLAND. I even added a huge chopped sweat potato but the only real taste of anything was when you got a piece of the sweet potato in your spoon. I even upped the spices and doubled the peanut butter on the suspicion that this would be bland..no help. ..sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I add chicken to this, and it's probably my favorite soup ever! Very hearty and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States