African Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
The idea of peanut soup may seem odd to many Americans, but this is fantastic! Everyone that I've gotten to try it, has become hooked on it. Everyone is always asking when I'll make it again, just so they have a chance at getting some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kissy_liz

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Delicious! I made it twice. The first time, I followed the recipe as-is (except I used white rice) and it turned out good but bit bland. The second time, I used some reviewers' suggestions. First, I used a jar of spicy salsa instead of crushed tomatoes. The extra spice in the soup is excellent. I also added cumin and a bit more garlic. I used crunchy natural peanut butter, but also added some crushed peanuts at the very end. The first time I made it, I used white rice. But I liked it better with the brown rice, so I'd suggest definitely sticking to that ingredient. This recipe is perfect because you can tweak it if you want, or eat it as is-either way, it's wonderful, healthy, and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I really enjoyed this soup. I doubled the amount of rice, precooked it, I added it cooked and let is simmer for 20 min at the end. I also added diced cooked chicken, it was thicker like a gumbo. I also used chunky jif pb, doubled the chili powder and used chicken stock instead of veg, since its all I had. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
This was pretty good, but i think the peanut butter almost kind of ruined it. The soup before i added the peanut butter was delicious....next time I will use less than half the peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachie-Pooh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I'll admit, some people were put off by the description of this dish but they are the ones who missed out. I made this for a get together and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
My husband is African and makes this often. Although the recipe varies, the consistency is more thick and uses it to serve over rice. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
My sister made this soup for a family get-together and it is delicious! We couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.combs

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I made this for the first time recently. I did not put in the red peppers because I didn't have any on hand. I followed the recipe precisely after that, until the end when I thickened it with a tad bit of cornstarch. The hubby doesn't like super thin broth soups, so to get him to eat it, measures had to be taken. The taste was great. The husband loved it. Since it was only the two of us we had it for three days, and it was eaten all up. I'll be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
flavorful and versatile. A nice, filling soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Wow! this was delicious! My picky husband and 9 year old daughter loved it too. We weren't sure about it at first...peanut soup and all, but it was great and I'm going to make it again. I used Red Rice instead of brown and liked the chewy texture it added. For the peanut butter, I used Earth Balance with flaxseed, so we got some Omega 3's added. We are new vegans and this satisfied us all! Thanks for sharing :o).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seabrook, Texas, USA
Living In: Lago Vista, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States