African Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I made this for the first time recently. I did not put in the red peppers because I didn't have any on hand. I followed the recipe precisely after that, until the end when I thickened it with a tad bit of cornstarch. The hubby doesn't like super thin broth soups, so to get him to eat it, measures had to be taken. The taste was great. The husband loved it. Since it was only the two of us we had it for three days, and it was eaten all up. I'll be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
flavorful and versatile. A nice, filling soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Wow! this was delicious! My picky husband and 9 year old daughter loved it too. We weren't sure about it at first...peanut soup and all, but it was great and I'm going to make it again. I used Red Rice instead of brown and liked the chewy texture it added. For the peanut butter, I used Earth Balance with flaxseed, so we got some Omega 3's added. We are new vegans and this satisfied us all! Thanks for sharing :o).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seabrook, Texas, USA
Living In: Lago Vista, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
what a strange recipe. but i love it!! i would definitely recommend sticking with the crunchy peanut butter. it adds a special texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New London, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Yum! I'm giving this four stars for how it's written, and five stars with how I prepared it. I halved the recipe, but still used a full 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes. I also added about 2/3 of a big jar of Pace Picante - Hot and a handful of chopped cilantro. I added about 3/8 c of rice instead of just 1/4. And I probably added more peanut butter - I just globbed it in. The result was a thick & spicy soup. Yummm... Will definitely make this again! I might try adding some shredded chicken and coconut milk to make it different, but it was definitely great the way I made it this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ESJESSI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I threw mine into a crock pot for convenience (low 6 hours, 1 hour on high uncovered to simmer down). I would reccomend putting the rice in a couple hours later so it doesn't over cook. I did double up on spices as others reccomend, and I am glad I did! Also, I would reccomend looking at how to make your own peanut butter, its easy (healthier) and a much more "peanut buttery" taste. Its super easy; peanuts, some oil and a good blender or food processer, voila! You can look up a recipe on here for home made peanut butter. I am only giving this 4 stars because I think it needs some thing more, it was lacking something. I think some sweet potato or squash would push it to 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Amazing! Has a Thai vibe, if you need context. I added jalapenos, used all green peppers, jasmine rice (but any will work), and topped with chopped cilantro. Everyone loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Riverstone-Newell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I love this soup. I did doctor it up somewhat, based on comments and reviews. I added a yam, upped the rice content, doubled the spice, added some cumin and used chicken bullion cubes. I might use fresh chicken next time. I don't have any sour cream to put on top. I try to keep fat content down, so perhaps I will get some low fat yogurt and try that instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Amazingly delicious!!!!!! Easy to make. Made a huge pot for a party and came home with an empty pot. Everybody loved it. Thanks you so much for this recipe, it will be a staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie Hodawanus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Just the way I remember it! Made it exactly by the recipe, except blended soup so that it was smooth prior to rice and peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States