African Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I really enjoyed this soup. I doubled the amount of rice, precooked it, I added it cooked and let is simmer for 20 min at the end. I also added diced cooked chicken, it was thicker like a gumbo. I also used chunky jif pb, doubled the chili powder and used chicken stock instead of veg, since its all I had. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
This was pretty good, but i think the peanut butter almost kind of ruined it. The soup before i added the peanut butter was delicious....next time I will use less than half the peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachie-Pooh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I'll admit, some people were put off by the description of this dish but they are the ones who missed out. I made this for a get together and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
My husband is African and makes this often. Although the recipe varies, the consistency is more thick and uses it to serve over rice. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
My sister made this soup for a family get-together and it is delicious! We couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.combs

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I made this for the first time recently. I did not put in the red peppers because I didn't have any on hand. I followed the recipe precisely after that, until the end when I thickened it with a tad bit of cornstarch. The hubby doesn't like super thin broth soups, so to get him to eat it, measures had to be taken. The taste was great. The husband loved it. Since it was only the two of us we had it for three days, and it was eaten all up. I'll be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
flavorful and versatile. A nice, filling soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Wow! this was delicious! My picky husband and 9 year old daughter loved it too. We weren't sure about it at first...peanut soup and all, but it was great and I'm going to make it again. I used Red Rice instead of brown and liked the chewy texture it added. For the peanut butter, I used Earth Balance with flaxseed, so we got some Omega 3's added. We are new vegans and this satisfied us all! Thanks for sharing :o).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seabrook, Texas, USA
Living In: Lago Vista, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
what a strange recipe. but i love it!! i would definitely recommend sticking with the crunchy peanut butter. it adds a special texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New London, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Yum! I'm giving this four stars for how it's written, and five stars with how I prepared it. I halved the recipe, but still used a full 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes. I also added about 2/3 of a big jar of Pace Picante - Hot and a handful of chopped cilantro. I added about 3/8 c of rice instead of just 1/4. And I probably added more peanut butter - I just globbed it in. The result was a thick & spicy soup. Yummm... Will definitely make this again! I might try adding some shredded chicken and coconut milk to make it different, but it was definitely great the way I made it this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ESJESSI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States