African Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I absolutely LOVE this recipe. I made it three times within the first week I discovered it, and it's always a crowd pleaser. It's unfamiliar and savory. Like many others, I also substituted chunky salsa for the tomatoes. I use chicken broth instead of the veggie stock, and I also saute the garlic from the get-go with my onions and peppers. I also add an uncooked chicken breast after it's been simmering about 20 minutes. After it's cooked I take it out and shred it before adding it back to the pot. I've used white rice, as opposed to brown. When I add the rice, I also add a peeled/chopped potato, making it extra hearty. For the peanut butter I've used Jif extra crunchy. I've noticed a lot of people concerned about the sweetness in processed vs. natural, but I think it's a good flavor. You honestly don't even taste the peanut butter if you measure it right. The peanuts add extra bulk to the stew, while giving it a nice creamy consistency. Served with sour cream to cut the spiciness (Everyone else likes spicy, but I don't so much). I HIGHLY recommend this recipe. Give it a shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Very unique blend of tastes. I added slivered almonds for added texture. I can see this soup being great pureed as well, rice and all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mblanzaco

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
delicious, has a great rich flavor. added 1/2 tsp. salt, 2x the chili powder, 2x the black pepper, and a 1/4 tsp. cinnamon. will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This is a new favorite in my household and by everyone we've asked to try it. My hubby has to have meat so I also add two seasoned, shredded chicken breasts. I upped the rice the second time we had this to 1 3/4 cups. I've added shredded carrots and this time am adding sweet potato. I also have been using chicken stock and took others suggestions and used salsa instead of tomatoes, which hubby is not a fan of. I also upped the peanut butter. We top it with cilantro and lime juice. Its actually pretty similar to pad thai, but in a soup. We LOVE this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I don't know if I did something wrong or what but I just did NOT like the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
We didn't care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
THIS IS SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO DELICIOUS..... This is what I did different: used 1 cup of rice 1 teaspoon of pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by profit414

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Good soup. Will do again but with a couple changes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I crave this soup. Since it's so hearty it makes for a great meal or lunch, especially in the winter. I tend to add the peanut butter to taste, which is a little more than what the recipe calls for. A dollop of sour cream on top is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Delicious! Will for sure make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States