African Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I've made this a few times now. If I don't add chicken, I like to double the rice. I also like a dash of cayenne in addition to the chili powder. I only use one red pepper to appease my veggie-phobic children. (I chopped the one up so fine that they didn't know it was there--bwa ha ha!) Great low-cost, high-taste recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I have made this soup at least 10 times since I found the recipe. It is a favorite! It's so easy and quick to make. ???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Moyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Overall not a bad recipe. DELICIOUS the first bowl but after that it gets a bit boring. I made a big batch then froze smaller batches instead of wasting a big pot full. Be careful with others' suggestions - I may have added too much salsa based on another review and it made it taste slightly acidic. I added cinnamon, shredded carrot & celery which turned out beautifully. Give it a try! Definitely taste as you go along to make sure that it tastes the way you want it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I am African but born in america I don't like it when people call me African American my dads from west Africa aka Ghana and my mom makes this all the time she says she doesn't how to make it she just throws it together so I went on here and looked and amazing aka my step mom is from Kenya. But it was delicious my grandma is Southern and she even likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
We really enjoyed this soup. I did add some cayenne powder, cumin, and crushed red pepper. Used sesame oil along with olive oil for sauteing. Loved the crunchy p-nut butter in it. Definitely add salt. Did use one 14/15 oz. can of crushed tomatoes and one can of Rotel with green chiles. Also used chicken broth in place of vege broth. This may seem like a lot of changes for a five star recipe. But they were changes made to my taste. It had nothing to do with the original recipe. I often, if not always will add a little extra here, or less there to most of my recipes, as I'm sure most of you do. The salt was the only thing, in my opinion, that should have been in the original recipe. But this comes from someone who nearly always has to add extra salt. Anywho, give it a try. It really is a unique and delicious recipe that my whole family loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C. Waite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Monte, California, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
More garlic, more chili, less onion, and pre-cook the rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
love! I added sliced carrots and celery for more veggie content, and used smooth peanut butter - delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This is a wonderful soup. I followed Liz E.'s slight modifications to make it more authentic, though I think it would have been just as good had I followed the recipe exactly. Thanks for this wonderful African soup! Used 365 brand crunchy peanut butter, used Lotus brand pink Madagascar rice, which cooked pretty quickly and had just the right texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Very good! Traditionally, instead of rice, would be yam / sweet potato, which my family doesn't like so I used boiling potatoes instead of rice. Served with roast chicken and carrots - which I thought was good also mixed into into my bowl :-) anyway, I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Amstutz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Wasn't good. Next time I would use less garlic (half),more peanut butter and more rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States