African Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
I had this in Africa. It is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
I loved it.I used creamy peanut butter,& had to add mixed veggies to make it filling because I didn't use the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
This soup is amazing. I made some changes. I used a jar of salsa and a 10 oz can of diced tomatoes with cilantro & lime juice in place of the can of tomatoes. I added 1/2 t of Cumin and 1/4 t of cayenne pepper. I used creamy natural peanut butter. I used one red and one orange bell pepper. The result was excellent. Thank you so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I utilize this site a lot for recipes, but this is my first time reviewing -- that's how awesome this soup is! It was so easy to make, and I froze a portion of it a couple weeks ago and just thawed it out and it's still fantastic! I pretty much followed the recipe except I added like a quarter cup of roasted peanuts in addition to the crunchy peanut butter because I wanted it to be pretty chunky. If you are hesitant because you think this is a strange flavor combo -- just try it, it somehow just works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montoursville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
This soup was delicious! Even my brother, who rarely rates food better than "ok," said that this soup is amazing. I followed the directions exactly, but I ended up simmering the brown rice for about 45 minutes before it was tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
My 7yo didn't care for it but we loved it. It is so tasty! I followed other reviewers and tweeked a few things as well such as peeled chopped potato, 1/2 cup salsa and I had an African blend spice which has cinnamon and fennel in it..yum. I used brown basmati rice, fresh roma tomatoes, sliced carrots and put a full cup of Kraft creamy peanut butter. You really can't go wrong. Definitely be making this again and again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MuskokaJac

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Huntsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Tried it didn't like this recipe because it tasted nothing like the first time I ate peanut butter soup. Will try another to try and get that authentic taste...It was tasty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christic P.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Another meatless Monday hit. Changes I made, using vegetable stock instead of chicken, creamy peanut butter instead of crunchy and a little cayenne pepper instead of chili powder because it is what I had on hand .. Served with garlic bread .. will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisajoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I've made this a few times now. If I don't add chicken, I like to double the rice. I also like a dash of cayenne in addition to the chili powder. I only use one red pepper to appease my veggie-phobic children. (I chopped the one up so fine that they didn't know it was there--bwa ha ha!) Great low-cost, high-taste recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I have made this soup at least 10 times since I found the recipe. It is a favorite! It's so easy and quick to make. ???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Moyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States