African Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I utilize this site a lot for recipes, but this is my first time reviewing -- that's how awesome this soup is! It was so easy to make, and I froze a portion of it a couple weeks ago and just thawed it out and it's still fantastic! I pretty much followed the recipe except I added like a quarter cup of roasted peanuts in addition to the crunchy peanut butter because I wanted it to be pretty chunky. If you are hesitant because you think this is a strange flavor combo -- just try it, it somehow just works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montoursville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
This soup was delicious! Even my brother, who rarely rates food better than "ok," said that this soup is amazing. I followed the directions exactly, but I ended up simmering the brown rice for about 45 minutes before it was tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
My 7yo didn't care for it but we loved it. It is so tasty! I followed other reviewers and tweeked a few things as well such as peeled chopped potato, 1/2 cup salsa and I had an African blend spice which has cinnamon and fennel in it..yum. I used brown basmati rice, fresh roma tomatoes, sliced carrots and put a full cup of Kraft creamy peanut butter. You really can't go wrong. Definitely be making this again and again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MuskokaJac

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Huntsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Tried it didn't like this recipe because it tasted nothing like the first time I ate peanut butter soup. Will try another to try and get that authentic taste...It was tasty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christic P.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Another meatless Monday hit. Changes I made, using vegetable stock instead of chicken, creamy peanut butter instead of crunchy and a little cayenne pepper instead of chili powder because it is what I had on hand .. Served with garlic bread .. will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisajoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I've made this a few times now. If I don't add chicken, I like to double the rice. I also like a dash of cayenne in addition to the chili powder. I only use one red pepper to appease my veggie-phobic children. (I chopped the one up so fine that they didn't know it was there--bwa ha ha!) Great low-cost, high-taste recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I have made this soup at least 10 times since I found the recipe. It is a favorite! It's so easy and quick to make. ???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Moyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Overall not a bad recipe. DELICIOUS the first bowl but after that it gets a bit boring. I made a big batch then froze smaller batches instead of wasting a big pot full. Be careful with others' suggestions - I may have added too much salsa based on another review and it made it taste slightly acidic. I added cinnamon, shredded carrot & celery which turned out beautifully. Give it a try! Definitely taste as you go along to make sure that it tastes the way you want it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I am African but born in america I don't like it when people call me African American my dads from west Africa aka Ghana and my mom makes this all the time she says she doesn't how to make it she just throws it together so I went on here and looked and amazing aka my step mom is from Kenya. But it was delicious my grandma is Southern and she even likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
We really enjoyed this soup. I did add some cayenne powder, cumin, and crushed red pepper. Used sesame oil along with olive oil for sauteing. Loved the crunchy p-nut butter in it. Definitely add salt. Did use one 14/15 oz. can of crushed tomatoes and one can of Rotel with green chiles. Also used chicken broth in place of vege broth. This may seem like a lot of changes for a five star recipe. But they were changes made to my taste. It had nothing to do with the original recipe. I often, if not always will add a little extra here, or less there to most of my recipes, as I'm sure most of you do. The salt was the only thing, in my opinion, that should have been in the original recipe. But this comes from someone who nearly always has to add extra salt. Anywho, give it a try. It really is a unique and delicious recipe that my whole family loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C. Waite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Monte, California, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States