African Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
In making it the first time, I cut the recipe in half and used a 14.5 oz. can of crushed tomatoes and a 1/2 cup of extra crunchy peanut butter. Also added a finely diced celery stalk to the onions and red pepper and one mashed sweet potato after the vegetable stock. May pre-cook the rice next time as it took longer than 15 minutes to become tender. Wonderful, hearty and very tasty! Great Lenten soup for those who follow the Orthodox fasting traditions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
This was really good. My fiance didn't like the crunchy peanuts so I'm going to try it with creamy peanut butter next time. I followed it exactly and like the others, the rice take around 55 minutes before it's soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
Delicious! My brother and I loved this wonderfully creamy, interesting soup. It really is good with bread and sour cream (or yogurt for the health-conscious). The crunchy pb can be substituted for a low-fat version, if you want (that's what I did), but the crunch is probably for texture. I definately recommend this soup - easy, scrumptious, and different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
Awesome soup!!! Hubby and I both loved it. A few minor changes... I used 4 cups chicken broth (instead of vegetable broth) and excluded the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
my aunt added a mashed sweet potatoe and a chipotle (spelling?) pepper... its SO good i did the same, though i added one can of tomatoes with liquid and one without and doubled the rice, just a little hardier for those up-comming canadian winters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
This soup is DELISH! I only made half of the recipe because there is only 2 of us, but i wish I made it all to have more left-overs! Instead of regular vegetable broth, I used half Imagine Creamy Butternut Squash Soup (http://www.imaginefoods.com/pages/products/soupbroth/soup.php) and half water. Also, Instead of chili powder I used fresh ginger, which was really yummy and added a great zip to it. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
This is a wonderful soup! I followed the recipe almost exactly, except that I tossed in some tomatoes that I had grown that were starting to get soft. This is even better the second day. My family loved it. Its a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
This soup is delish! I have varied the recipe by using natural chunky PB, quick brown rice (and more of it!) and adding more spice (chili pepper & fresh ginger). I like it as a comfort soup for the cold months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
This soup was delicious. I personally liked the crunchy peanuts, but my fiance didn't, so next time I will use creamy peanut butter. I added one cubed sweet potato in the 30 minute simmer stage, and I also used 10 minute brown rice to cut down on cooking time. It turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
This soup is delicious! I can highly reccommend it. Thanks for sharing your amazing soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States