African Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I am in love with this soup. It's hearty, delicious and unique. I was introduced to it by a friend who followed the recipe exactly and I knew I wanted to make it myself. In terms of modifying the recipe, I used vegetable broth, added some chicken breast, increased the peanut butter (about 1 cup of the natural stuff) and threw in a bit of spice (chili pepper olive oil) and it was just as delicious if not a bit more hearty and, well, spicy. My BF loved it as well and suggested using more tomatoes so I will be trying that for next time. For anyone who is skeptical, give it a go... it's a soup you can modify to your own tastes and it still retains it's own well-balanced character. As for me, I will be making this soup for many years to come... thanks for the recipe to others for their suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
The Best soup ever !! My family can never get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I had never eaten peanut soup, but was tired of the usual vegan fare I had been making since our conversion. As other reviewers pointed out, this was pretty good the first day, but much better after it was in the refrigerator overnight. My father, a picky eater by his own admission, was convinced to try a spoonful. He suprisingly exclaimed, "Why that's pretty good!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cnelson204

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
this soup is great as is, but I made it a second time and think these improvements are good enough to share. Decreased the liquid by half, doubled the peanut butter, added cumin, added 3 baked yams and used my soup emusifier on the yams and 1/2 of the soup. then added it all together with a lb of cooked diced chicken, and served with rice on the side (not in it) and allowed guests to portion out each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I have made this soup for the last several years. It is excellent. There are so many variations. I usually spice it up with a dose of curry and/or jalopenos. Sometimes I serve shreddeed chicken on the side for the non-vegetarians. I always use veggie stock. I cook the rice first. Everybody loves this soup. Everybody. I add a sweet potato or two. Squash if I have it. Pumpkin good too. Apples. You can't go wrong. Just play. It is peanuts after all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Polly McMahon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Very good and easy to make. I did make some changes based on other reviewers: used chicken instead of veggie broth, double the amount of chili powder, and added a pinch of two of cumin. I paired it with toasted bread and a salad with smoked paprika vinaigrette (also found on the site). My roommate and I both loved it...definitely exceeded my expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I thought it was really good but a bit bland. I halved the recipe and at the end added 1 tsp soy sauce, 1 tsp chipolte hot sauce and some chopped cilantro and that made it spectacular!! For lunch tomorrow I think I will also add some leftover chicken breast to make a real a full meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILLOTT
Living In: East Windsor, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Made this last night. So easy, used the chopper to chopp onion and peppers and used chicken stock instead of veg and also had 200 g of peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I made this for a family who is not keen on peppers or spice and they absolutely loved it! It tastes even better the day after over a serving of rice! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Weight Watchers Point Plus=6 Points Per Serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIETOGO
Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States