African Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Surprisingly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mystica

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This was quite good! I wanted to add some texture and fiber, so I added a can of garbanzo beans, a few stalks of celery, and a diced sweet potato. I used brown basmati rice, added with the second step, and cooked it for about 40 minutes. I had exactly 1 cup of rice left, so that's how much I added. I think the extra rice was a good thing, but I did end up having to add a little water before serving because it had thickened up considerably. I also doubled the chili powder and added 1/2 t cumin. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Wollens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Excellent soup! Both my husband and I were pleasantly surprised how the different flavors came together so nicely. I also recommend using natural peanut butter. It turned out perfect, I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beachkris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I liked it, my husband thought it was too heavy. I would definitely make less next time because half a bowl is enough to fill anyone up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
We absolutely loved this soup ... I substituted carrots for the red bell peppers, salsa for half of the tomatoes, chicken broth rather than vegetable, used 1 cup rice, and added cumin (as others have suggested). The brown rice definitely needs to be pre-cooked for at least 30 minutes prior to adding. Highly recommend this as a winter 'comfort' food! Cilantro and sour cream, or peanuts, would be great toppings as well. Very simple to prepare, and very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunnymtnmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I didn't think I would like this as I was making it, but in the end it was pretty good. I made half the recipe, added more chili powder (dbl or triple at least) + a dash of cinnamon & threw in a little cooked chicken. Probably a bit more peanut butter too. It thickens up after adding the peanut butter. It is pretty tasty. I may try using salsa instead of the tomatoes. It does need a little more spice in my opinion. Overall, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LT511

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This soup tastes great! I loved it. So unique! The only change I made was to add 2 chili peppers instead of chili powder and because I only had smooth peanut butter I added walnuts to the soup. Loved the crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Too good! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Love this soup, give it a try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I am in love with this soup. It's hearty, delicious and unique. I was introduced to it by a friend who followed the recipe exactly and I knew I wanted to make it myself. In terms of modifying the recipe, I used vegetable broth, added some chicken breast, increased the peanut butter (about 1 cup of the natural stuff) and threw in a bit of spice (chili pepper olive oil) and it was just as delicious if not a bit more hearty and, well, spicy. My BF loved it as well and suggested using more tomatoes so I will be trying that for next time. For anyone who is skeptical, give it a go... it's a soup you can modify to your own tastes and it still retains it's own well-balanced character. As for me, I will be making this soup for many years to come... thanks for the recipe to others for their suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States