African Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Amazing! I changed it based on reviews and I tripled the chili powder, added cinnamon and cumin and curry. I used diced tomatoes instead of crushed tomatoes. They were actually Kroeger garlic diced tomatoes! I loved it straight out of the pot with no sour cream. I cant't wait to try it second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Fantastic, but changes made: Added corn, carrots, cinnamon, nutmeg, chili flakes, extra garlic, salt and pepper and double the rice. Let simmer for about 2 hours, added rice about 45 minutes before done. It thickened up, to more of a chili, and was sooo delicious! Added sour cream and a fresh squeeze of lemon juice at the table, really added a whole new kick to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikii Niiki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Wow was this fantastic. I downloaded this recipe a while back and finally got around to making it- not sure what to expect. This will be on my "frequent flyer" list. Made as written with the exception that I only had crunchy peanut butter not extra crunchy so I threw in a few crushed chopped peanuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly and it was very good. It just lacked spice, we added a little hot sauce and it was perfect. I also added the rice at the begining because my package says it takes 45 minutes to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Surprisingly delicious! The peanut butter somehow works well with the other ingredients in the soup. The only thing I really noticed is that there is no way that the brown rice will cook in 15 minutes, I had to let the soup simmer for at least 30 minutes to get the rice soft enough to enjoy. Overall, I enjoyed it and will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
yum..used red pepper flakes and ginger instead of chili powder. ate with bread instead of using the brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
A delicious soup. I used creamy peanut butter and it was delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Very satisfying soup. As another reviewer suggested, I included some salsa and less of the canned tomatoes. Good recommendation. I also used homemade chicken stock instead of veg broth. This will now be in my quick mid week meal rotation. Thanks PIETOGO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
I added a huge bunch of fresh mustard greens from our local CSA to this recipe and it was yummy! Used 4 baby walla walla onions instead of 2 mediums. Went seriously heavy on curry powder instead of chili powder. Put in salt as well as the pepper the recipe calls for. Used vegan "chicken" broth. Took almost an hour for the brown rice to soften though- not 15 minutes- so allow for that :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
This was good! Although it was not followed directly, I think it would have turned out better if I had. I put all ingredients in a slow cooker and it turned out to be a very hearty soup the family enjoyed. I used green peppers instead of red ones because of what was on hand. I it would of been a tad sweeter if I used the red ones. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States