African Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
This recipe was lackluster for me. Even though I used correct measurements on everything, was soup was much more red than the reference photo. The taste was somewhat bland and both my boyfriend and I found it to be be missing something (I thought more spice). I am not sure I will eat this pot, but I may try again with some spicy peppers and chicken in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
The best darn soup I've had in a long time! I used quinoa instead of rice. I used frozen tri-color bell peppers. I added a shredded carrot and little extra peanut butter . Super Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This soup was good. It was something different which is really nice. I feel like it's missing something, but I couldn't tell you what. Overall, it's a nice change and tastes quite good. It has a rich flavour which my boyfriend and I both liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Great soup, just need a bit more spice to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
The idea of peanut soup may seem odd to many Americans, but this is fantastic! Everyone that I've gotten to try it, has become hooked on it. Everyone is always asking when I'll make it again, just so they have a chance at getting some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kissy_liz

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Delicious! I made it twice. The first time, I followed the recipe as-is (except I used white rice) and it turned out good but bit bland. The second time, I used some reviewers' suggestions. First, I used a jar of spicy salsa instead of crushed tomatoes. The extra spice in the soup is excellent. I also added cumin and a bit more garlic. I used crunchy natural peanut butter, but also added some crushed peanuts at the very end. The first time I made it, I used white rice. But I liked it better with the brown rice, so I'd suggest definitely sticking to that ingredient. This recipe is perfect because you can tweak it if you want, or eat it as is-either way, it's wonderful, healthy, and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I really enjoyed this soup. I doubled the amount of rice, precooked it, I added it cooked and let is simmer for 20 min at the end. I also added diced cooked chicken, it was thicker like a gumbo. I also used chunky jif pb, doubled the chili powder and used chicken stock instead of veg, since its all I had. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
This was pretty good, but i think the peanut butter almost kind of ruined it. The soup before i added the peanut butter was delicious....next time I will use less than half the peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachie-Pooh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I'll admit, some people were put off by the description of this dish but they are the ones who missed out. I made this for a get together and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
My husband is African and makes this often. Although the recipe varies, the consistency is more thick and uses it to serve over rice. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States