African Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
We really enjoyed this soup. I did add some cayenne powder, cumin, and crushed red pepper. Used sesame oil along with olive oil for sauteing. Loved the crunchy p-nut butter in it. Definitely add salt. Did use one 14/15 oz. can of crushed tomatoes and one can of Rotel with green chiles. Also used chicken broth in place of vege broth. This may seem like a lot of changes for a five star recipe. But they were changes made to my taste. It had nothing to do with the original recipe. I often, if not always will add a little extra here, or less there to most of my recipes, as I'm sure most of you do. The salt was the only thing, in my opinion, that should have been in the original recipe. But this comes from someone who nearly always has to add extra salt. Anywho, give it a try. It really is a unique and delicious recipe that my whole family loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C. Waite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Monte, California, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
More garlic, more chili, less onion, and pre-cook the rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
love! I added sliced carrots and celery for more veggie content, and used smooth peanut butter - delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This is a wonderful soup. I followed Liz E.'s slight modifications to make it more authentic, though I think it would have been just as good had I followed the recipe exactly. Thanks for this wonderful African soup! Used 365 brand crunchy peanut butter, used Lotus brand pink Madagascar rice, which cooked pretty quickly and had just the right texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Very good! Traditionally, instead of rice, would be yam / sweet potato, which my family doesn't like so I used boiling potatoes instead of rice. Served with roast chicken and carrots - which I thought was good also mixed into into my bowl :-) anyway, I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Amstutz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Wasn't good. Next time I would use less garlic (half),more peanut butter and more rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Mmmmm! So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottington

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Springs, California, USA
Living In: Loma Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jnapen
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Delish! I put my rice in with the broth and tomatoes, which had my basimati rice perfect after 30 min. Also added an extra 1/4 tsp of chipotle chile pepper for more heat, a pinch of cumin and some lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I think that those of us who use tomatoes, peanut butter, and broth without added salt, sugar, or other additives need to make alterations to this recipe. Here's what I did. This was a hit after I altered it. To start,I used less veggie broth. And I partially cooked the brown rice before I added it. Additions after it turned out bland: Maple syrup (approx 1/4 cup), Lakewood OG Pure Lime juice (approx 1/4 cup), more pepper, more chili powder, fresh cilantro, more garlic (about 6 cloves total) more peanut butter (I used Woodstock OG crunchy), 2 med cans diced tomatoes. And chopped peanuts and fresh cilantro for sprinkling on top of each serving. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I made this for the first time last week. I love it because all the ingredients were in my pantry or frig. I read all the reviews and tips and followed a few of them. I added frozen butternut squash, chopped fresh zuchini and crook neck squash because I had them. We were eating this as a main dish with salad so I wanted a hearty soup. I doubled the rice but would probably only add 25% more when making it again. I also added 1/4 tsp. red pepper flakes because we are addicted to spicey foods, some cummin and by mistake cinnamon because I thought it was cummin (same size container), increased garlic also. The cinnamon was delightful in the soup as a background surprise flavor. This soup was a hit by all who ate it and yes, it was better when we heated it up while watching football on Saturday afternoon. It is a keeper recipe for anyone vegan or not and makes a generous amount, enough to freeze. Thank you for submitting this delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States