African Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Too good! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Love this soup, give it a try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I am in love with this soup. It's hearty, delicious and unique. I was introduced to it by a friend who followed the recipe exactly and I knew I wanted to make it myself. In terms of modifying the recipe, I used vegetable broth, added some chicken breast, increased the peanut butter (about 1 cup of the natural stuff) and threw in a bit of spice (chili pepper olive oil) and it was just as delicious if not a bit more hearty and, well, spicy. My BF loved it as well and suggested using more tomatoes so I will be trying that for next time. For anyone who is skeptical, give it a go... it's a soup you can modify to your own tastes and it still retains it's own well-balanced character. As for me, I will be making this soup for many years to come... thanks for the recipe to others for their suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
The Best soup ever !! My family can never get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I had never eaten peanut soup, but was tired of the usual vegan fare I had been making since our conversion. As other reviewers pointed out, this was pretty good the first day, but much better after it was in the refrigerator overnight. My father, a picky eater by his own admission, was convinced to try a spoonful. He suprisingly exclaimed, "Why that's pretty good!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cnelson204

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
this soup is great as is, but I made it a second time and think these improvements are good enough to share. Decreased the liquid by half, doubled the peanut butter, added cumin, added 3 baked yams and used my soup emusifier on the yams and 1/2 of the soup. then added it all together with a lb of cooked diced chicken, and served with rice on the side (not in it) and allowed guests to portion out each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I have made this soup for the last several years. It is excellent. There are so many variations. I usually spice it up with a dose of curry and/or jalopenos. Sometimes I serve shreddeed chicken on the side for the non-vegetarians. I always use veggie stock. I cook the rice first. Everybody loves this soup. Everybody. I add a sweet potato or two. Squash if I have it. Pumpkin good too. Apples. You can't go wrong. Just play. It is peanuts after all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Polly McMahon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Very good and easy to make. I did make some changes based on other reviewers: used chicken instead of veggie broth, double the amount of chili powder, and added a pinch of two of cumin. I paired it with toasted bread and a salad with smoked paprika vinaigrette (also found on the site). My roommate and I both loved it...definitely exceeded my expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I thought it was really good but a bit bland. I halved the recipe and at the end added 1 tsp soy sauce, 1 tsp chipolte hot sauce and some chopped cilantro and that made it spectacular!! For lunch tomorrow I think I will also add some leftover chicken breast to make a real a full meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILLOTT
Living In: East Windsor, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Made this last night. So easy, used the chopper to chopp onion and peppers and used chicken stock instead of veg and also had 200 g of peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States