African Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This recipe really worked out well for me. I did make a few changes. I cut the recipe in half and even then got lots of soup. Instead of using brown rice, I used quinoa (probably about 2/3 cup). I also added one cayenne pepper (because I like a bit of fire) and used chili powder, salt and pepper to taste. I did not saute the vegetables. Basically, I cut the onion and pepper into smallish squares and added everything to my slow cooker. I let it cook for about 3 hours and ended up with a nicely textured soup. I will definitely add this to my must make again list. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Added way less broth/water and extra rice. Surprisingly very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
awesime i couldnt get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Surprisingly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mystica

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This was quite good! I wanted to add some texture and fiber, so I added a can of garbanzo beans, a few stalks of celery, and a diced sweet potato. I used brown basmati rice, added with the second step, and cooked it for about 40 minutes. I had exactly 1 cup of rice left, so that's how much I added. I think the extra rice was a good thing, but I did end up having to add a little water before serving because it had thickened up considerably. I also doubled the chili powder and added 1/2 t cumin. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Wollens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Excellent soup! Both my husband and I were pleasantly surprised how the different flavors came together so nicely. I also recommend using natural peanut butter. It turned out perfect, I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beachkris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I liked it, my husband thought it was too heavy. I would definitely make less next time because half a bowl is enough to fill anyone up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
We absolutely loved this soup ... I substituted carrots for the red bell peppers, salsa for half of the tomatoes, chicken broth rather than vegetable, used 1 cup rice, and added cumin (as others have suggested). The brown rice definitely needs to be pre-cooked for at least 30 minutes prior to adding. Highly recommend this as a winter 'comfort' food! Cilantro and sour cream, or peanuts, would be great toppings as well. Very simple to prepare, and very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunnymtnmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I didn't think I would like this as I was making it, but in the end it was pretty good. I made half the recipe, added more chili powder (dbl or triple at least) + a dash of cinnamon & threw in a little cooked chicken. Probably a bit more peanut butter too. It thickens up after adding the peanut butter. It is pretty tasty. I may try using salsa instead of the tomatoes. It does need a little more spice in my opinion. Overall, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LT511

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This soup tastes great! I loved it. So unique! The only change I made was to add 2 chili peppers instead of chili powder and because I only had smooth peanut butter I added walnuts to the soup. Loved the crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States