African Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This was really tasty. I doubled the chili powder and added some red pepper flakes and some diced hot pepper, and then some cilantro and a squirt of lime juice in each bowl. I think next time I might add some peanuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lauren
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I simply didn't like it. The flavors didn't meld and the canned tomato taste was too dominant. If you do make this I strongly recommend using less tomato. As others have noted, 15 minutes isn't enough to cook brown rice, so I added the rice at the same time as the broth (I used chicken broth).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I made this for my husband and children last night! Huge hit!! :) Even my 6 yr old asked for seconds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This soup was wonderful. As other commenters noted, it took a lot longer than 15 minutes to cook the brown rice... but using quick cook brown rice or white rice would solve this. Next time I plan to throw the brown rice in at the beginning. Overall, the flavor was wonderful, and it was incredibly hearty and filling. I made it vegetarian and my husband who isn't a big fan of vegetarian food loved it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
My soup for the coming week. As usual, the recipe didn't escape tweaks. Doubled the called-for spices, added a quarter-teaspoon of cumin and a healthy pinch of cayenne. Substituted stewed tomatoes for the called-for crushed ('cause that's what I had; probably changed the flavor profile a bit) and cobbled together the chicken broth out of two cans and the drippings from supermarket rotisserie chickens. Looks to be a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I just made this and it was absolutely delicious! I did double the chili powder and added about 1/2 tsp of cayenne to add bit more of a kick. The rice also takes a lot longer than 15 minutes to cook - closer to 40.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
A great soup! I used a 14 oz can of tomatoes and 16 oz jar of salsa (instead of the 28 oz can of tomatoes) per another reviewer, and white rice instead of brown and creamy instead of crunchy peanut butter (because that's what I had on hand), but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Delicious and filling. Added a touch of salt at the table. I agree that it would be great with some shredded chicken in there too. Will have to try that next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duckiewhomp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I really enjoyed this soup! I added some crushed red pepper for a little spice. It was delicious and filling as is but I think you could add shredded chicken or a beef stew meat and it would also be good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This is a great recipe! I have made it twice. The one thing I would mention about it is that (and it could be due to my love of peanut butter, or maybe it's the kind I use?) both tims I have had to add at least twice the recommended amount of peanut butter. Ater adding more, the soup is a bit creamier and seems to have the amount of peanut flavouring I am looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Loved it! Like some others I added sweet potato and cilantro. Used wild rice which gave a nice texture along with the addition of chopped peanuts, as I only had creamy natural pb, also chopped up some chicken and cooked it in the soup. Served with a wedge of lime to squeeze! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States