African Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I think that if I make this again I would add more curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
even with a supermarket bought curry powder, the dish is great. i added in mushrooms and broccoli to make it more filling and also added brown sugar (as others recommended) and my personal favorite, siracha sauce! it adds a perfect amount of heat and gives it a small taste of garlic. also, as advice i would increase the amount of curry powder by A LOT and add in more salt and brown sugar if your curry powder is like mine and is suited for people that cant handle the flavor of real curry. next time i will purchase curry from an ethnic foods store. :) :) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Our new favorite curry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly BiGolly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Really liked this and the aroma is amazing. Followed the advice of several reviewers by tripling the garlic and more than doubling the curry. Used lite Thai coconut milk to save fat and calories and a can of garlic seasoned petite diced tomatoes as substitutes. Also added a Tbsp of light brown sugar to the coconut milk stage. Served over brown rice. Not spicy at all but that's easy to adjust. My family enjoyed, husband said "great restaurant quality". Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I have a VERY large family and there is no way to make a recipe like this (even doubled) without them coming to make sandwiches 30 minutes later. SO....I used this as my base recipe and just after the onions had browned, I added peeled, washed and chopped carrots, potatoes and sweet potatoes and allowed them to cook for about 10 minutes before adding the curry, etc. Because of how much room it took in the pan, I transferred these ingredients to a crockpot and then browned the chicken in olive oil with the remnants of the earlier mixture still in the pan. Once slightly browned I added the chicken to the vegetable and curry mixture already in the crock pot, added a little hot water and then covered and cooked on high for 4 hours. All I had to do following my errands was make rice to serve with it. (Half the family ate it with Basmati rice and the other half ate it with long grain brown rice!) EVERYONE was licking their plates clean. TOTALLY making this again! The chicken doesn't make or break it. We have Hindu guests coming for dinner and I'm making it the same way....only without the chicken. THANK YOU FOR SUCH A GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UMKATIBA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Al-Iskandariyah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Looks like it would be good, but it's not. I even doctored it up. Bottom line too much work and no reward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
This was quite good! I added more onion and garlic, also some coarsely chopped bell pepper, carrots cut into large matchstick pieces, and chopped celery.Used a spicy curry powder, but I also added a bit of cayenne for extra kick. Thanks for this keeper, Valerie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I closely followed the recipe but also used some of the suggestions. It was one of the best things I have ever cooked and I'm a pretty good cook. I used Trader Joes chickens curry cutlets and I think that made a significant difference. I can't wait to make this again. Served with basmati brown rice and sautéed spinach. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Beijing, Beijing (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This instantly became one of my favorites. The temptation is to cook it too often and thus get tired of it. Changes I made: I used diced tomatoes. Also, a lot more curry powder. I used a TB for 2 servings, so 2-3 TB for a full recipe. Also, 1 TB brown sugar (2-3 for full recipe) and 1/2 tsp. ground chili pepper (again, 1/2-3/4 for full recipe). Also used extra coconut milk. This recipe is fast to make and heaven to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
A little more liquid-y than I expected but still great flavors
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brytness

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States