African Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Very tasty, but I did make less servings while keeping the spices the same. Also it was very thick after adding the peanut butter, it was overly peanutty and bland. I thinned it out with a little apple juice topped with cilantro and it was amazing. Served with yellow rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FruitLoops

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
even cold leftovers of this are great! very nice recipe, definitely making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Great recipe! Used sweet potato instead of regular. Reduced peanut butter as other reviewers suggested but I ended up adding more because the peanut flavor wasn't strong enough for our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I personally didnt get to eat any of this as I was sick, so Im reviewing for my DH. I used chicken broth instead of water. I ended up having to use about 20oz so the dish wouldnt be too dry. It definitely wasnt visually appealing to us, it looked quite nasty LOL! DH said it was just OK, definitely wouldnt be something he would ask me to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PookityPoo
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Sorry. I'm sure the recipe is good for some but to me it tasted like peanut butter veggies. My hubby didn't like it either. It looked really good though. Oh well. I know for next time...no PB for me. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tuey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
LOVED IT! It is so delicious! Made it last night for dinner, brought some leftovers to work for lunch and I have been craving it all morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulesUtah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Plain City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I followed this recipe to the letter except that I ran out of peanut butter and had to use some almond butter. This recipe uses WAYYYYY too much peanut butter. It dried out in the frying pan and I at least doubled the water and it was still too dry. Also the color is a muddy brown. I recommend adding turmeric or paprika or tomato paste to add some color. I do think there is some potential in this recipe so I will be trying a few things to make it work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
AMAZING. I did alter the recipe due to what I had on hand, e.g. carrots, celery, red and green pepper, sweet potato, cayenne pepper rather than red pepper flakes, and chicken broth rather than water. I also marinated the chicken in a lemon juice marinade beforehand. I tasted the stew after 1/2 c. peanut butter (crunchy) and decided that was enough for my personal preference. However, the peanut butter taste seemed to mellow a bit overnight, so next time I will go ahead and add the full 3/4 cup. My husband, who does not necessarily enjoy trying new dishes, LOVED it. We are actually fighting over the leftovers. I am planning to make a vegetarian version for a pitch-in at work. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I cut this recipe in half and found there was not enough liquid to keep "simmering" - all of the liquid had cooked off, so I added more which also cooked off. I didn't cook near as long as the recipe stated but everything was overdone and it turned into a big mushy mess. It was ok, but probably not something I would take the time to cook in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I added a large handful of baby spinach, also celery, carrots and parsnips since I am avoiding potatoes. Next time I will use more of them because the parsnips were a nice rare bite in the stew. (I only used one carrot, one parsnip and 2 celery stalks.) I wanted to try something to "brighten" it up...oddly enough, a few packets of Taco Bell Fire sauce added some nice oomph to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States