African Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
this was really good. I also used chicken stock instead of water and substituted sweet potato for regular potato. For the chicken, I boned and skinned a pre-cooked roaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
This has become a family favorite. I use less chicken, more garlic and cumin, and add a vegetable such as cauliflower when I mix in the garbanzo beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
My boyfriend's family is from Zimbabwe and I love every chance I get to try her cooking. Always flavor-able and delicious! She usually makes a spinach with peanut butter and while I don't care for it, I've come around to the flavor of it in savory food because of her cooking. So I modified this recipe and added spinach & fresh tomatoes, chicken stock, brown sugar and less peanut butter. It's soo good & I wish I knew how to make their staple food sadza to go with it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikkie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iwakuni, Yamaguchi, Japan
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Very good! I really didn't change a thing, other than using chicken breasts and thighs rather than bothering to debone a roaster. Love the flavor of the natural peanut butter and see no need to cut the amount. As it was cooking, the peanut butter fragrance was very strong, but the flavor turned out quite balanced. I think the only thing I would make sure to do next time is season the chicken with salt and pepper before browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Arnieri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Very tasty, but I did make less servings while keeping the spices the same. Also it was very thick after adding the peanut butter, it was overly peanutty and bland. I thinned it out with a little apple juice topped with cilantro and it was amazing. Served with yellow rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Nelson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
even cold leftovers of this are great! very nice recipe, definitely making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Great recipe! Used sweet potato instead of regular. Reduced peanut butter as other reviewers suggested but I ended up adding more because the peanut flavor wasn't strong enough for our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I personally didnt get to eat any of this as I was sick, so Im reviewing for my DH. I used chicken broth instead of water. I ended up having to use about 20oz so the dish wouldnt be too dry. It definitely wasnt visually appealing to us, it looked quite nasty LOL! DH said it was just OK, definitely wouldnt be something he would ask me to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PookityPoo
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Sorry. I'm sure the recipe is good for some but to me it tasted like peanut butter veggies. My hubby didn't like it either. It looked really good though. Oh well. I know for next time...no PB for me. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tuey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
LOVED IT! It is so delicious! Made it last night for dinner, brought some leftovers to work for lunch and I have been craving it all morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulesUtah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Plain City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States