Afghan Beef Raviolis (Mantwo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
One of my favorite Afghani appetizers! I used ground turkey instead of ground beef and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mblahblah
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I made these last night and they were delicious! I loved them. My roommate was on his way out the door and didn't want to leave because he wanted to try them. He stayed and tried them and even took some to his friends house to share! They were really easy but took some time. I love the yogurt at the bottom, it really helps with the spicy parts (red pepper). This was very enjoyable! I had to use green split peas because I could not find yellow ones and I substituted the fresh mint for mint extract. It came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mblahblah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cortland, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
One of the most technical dishes I have ever done. Tastes great but you better be marriage material before you convince me to make this again. Took the better part of a day to make, the rest of the day was clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I wasnt sure if i should give this 5 stars or 4...so I went with 5 because the flavor is nice in this dish. I would probably go with a 4 because it is too much work for not enough reward. I will probably never make this again because its too much work, but we all enjoyed it this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Great taste! Wonderful presentation! I folded the wonton wrappers in half over the meat mixture, then baked at 350 for a few minutes (too long in my case, as they started to turn brown!). I used green split peas since the yellow ones weren't available. All of the tastes complimented each other. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Restaurant quality! An excellent dish that was a LOT of fun to make. I added finely chopped red peppers and green onions to the beef mixture for color and because I had them. I also had to use green peas instead of yellow based on what was available. I steamed the raviolis and also had some trouble with them sticking together. I might try brushing them with olive oil next time. I highly recommend this dish. If I could give it 6 stars, I would!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ebensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Loved this recipe! It was very similar to an Afghan place we like in Baltimore! It took just over an hour to prepare (boiled the raviolis for about 4 minutes). I felt that it could have used more salt/cumin/coriander, but I like really flavorful foods! Like others, I couldn't find yellow split peas and used green instead. Made 16 ravioli and two of us could only eat 4 per serving, so had leftovers for the next night too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This is delicious. The only change I made was to use ground lamb instead of beef. Hubby and I both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I was confident in trying a new recipe. This looks yummy I thought. Well, I made it with some friends. More and more people kept coming (for dinner) and I began to think this looks weird. I told everyon what it was and they could try what they wanted. We found that if you eat all the layers together like the recipe it's so yummy. The Mantwo vanished. Our neighbor girl, who is a picky eater asked if she could bring a plate home for her brother ... But it was gone. We were able to prepare the meal much quick then the recipe said. We found stuffing the Raviolis to be the most difficult part in preparation.We found that they stuck togather in our steamer once stuffed. We found out doing less at a time and spraying oil on them made it work much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
My split peas also never formed into a "slurry" but more like a rather thick paste. Tasty meal nonetheless! I really think these ought to be steamed if you have the time as the taste is just so much lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States