Affy Tapple Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
Surprisingly delicious. This fruit salad has a very sweet and tangy taste, and everyone who has tried it has loved it. (In fact, I've been asked to make more!) I usually make a regular fruit salad and it's in the 'fridge for days. Last night I made this one and it was gone within hours. A great fruit salad. Only thing I didn't like was the strong smell of vinegar when heating it up in the saucepan -- it stinks. But I figure I can make a LOT of the chilled mixture and use it for later, which I do like. Edited: After making it several times I just thought I'd add more to this review. I'm not much of a cook so I don't see why the vinegar is necessary, probably flavor(?), but to compensate for the terrible smell of it I use half the vinegar. Still tastes great. In fact, I add more pineapple as well. I also wanted to mention that the salad tastes MUCH better if left in the 'fridge for a day or two, when the mixture, pineapple juice, and whipped topping blends together into the apples. This way the peanuts soak up the juice as well and are not as crunchy and hard on the teeth, but enough to still add texture and flavor to the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
Wow! Good salad, Kelly. Nice change from the usual Waldorf. Quite unique and very tasty. I'll be serving this at my ladies luncheon. Thanks for sharing.PS for a little extra crunch I chopped up one stock of celery. It adds crunch but doesn't compromise taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2001
This recipe really tastes like a caramel apple with nuts!! It's very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2002
This salad is wonderful! I have now made this recipe at least 15 times - it is requested at every family picnic and party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
This was ok. I had a salad similar to this a long time ago and have been trying to find one as good as the original. This was not it. All it seemed to be was apple. My husband ate quite a bit of it, but I think I will try a few more recipes that are similar but with different variations until I find one I REALLY like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krysta Leydsman Fecke

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2001
This really does taste like a candy apple. Would be better a much better salad for fall than spring/summer. Overall, pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
Great recipe! I've taken this to two different gatherings and it has gone over VERY well at both. This is easy to put together and adds something different to the usual potluck dishes. Thank You, Kelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2005
i have been making this recipe for years (just getting around to rating it though) and everyone who has tried it, loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUTUMNJOY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2005
I love, love, love this salad. My kids love it too (but I have to make a bowl with peanuts for me and without for them.) I make it with all granny smith apples to get a contrasting tartness to the sweetness, and good unsalted peanuts are hard to come by, so I go ahead and use salted and it comes out really good anyway. Also, I use about double the pineapple and extra creamy cool whip...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wayland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
Very good.Really tastes like a Taffy Apple.I took this salad to a family party and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOSSIER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Eagle, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States