Affy Tapple Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This salad smells absolutely awful while you are making it due to the vinegar that it calls for. However, the end result is surprisingly good. I took this to a family Thanksgiving get together and got rave reviews..Next time I will use less vinegar because as other reviewers say, I don't see why it is even needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIFFD1129

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shinglehouse, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
This did not please my children or myself. It's not bad, it's just not great, either. I did not add the peanuts, but put them on the side for those to sprinkle in that wanted them. Otherwise, I followed the recipe as is. I won't be making it again, as I probably will be eating this until it is gone, due to lack of enthusiasm in my house. I appreciate the recipe to try, Kelly, just not a hit at our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4kidsinthehouse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
Fantastic! My family devours this one every time I make it. Instead of peanuts, I use pecans. They add a smooth, rich flavor to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RECIPEFAN1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
My friend made this for me at a BBQ he hosted. Thankfully he let me take home the leftovers -- it was fabulous. I've made this 3x's now. The amount of peanuts "seems" like a lot, but it is really just right. It's great as a side dish, dessert, snack. I used green apples for 1/2 the amount, and red apples for the other 1/2. Looks more colorful. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
no peanuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This was great! The apples stay white, don't discolor even by the next day. I don't taste any vinegary taste, just tastes great, wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Mint Hill, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
A really good salad. Always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This year was the first time I have ever made Christmas dinner. I wanted to make soemthing different than the norm and this was the perfect pick. Everyone went back for seconds! I will probably use a few less peanuts next time, but other than that it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
I think I would have enjoyed this salad immensely, if not for the cider vinegar. In fact, the overwhelming vinegar flavor (and smell!), is the reason I only give it three stars. Otherwise, the salad has the potential of being fabulous! I'm not certain why the vinegar is even necessary, because it doesn't (in my opinion), lend anything good to the salad. Again, that's just my opinion. Nevertheless, I'm happy to have found the recipe; next time I'll just exclude the vinegar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
Fantastic! I brought this to my niece's birthday party and it all went. I used Gala and Golden Delicious apples. I will definitely be using this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States