Aebleskiver Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
Never use oil, only butter in the pan. The name in danish is Æbleskiver which means Appleslices (I know they're not slices, but that's the name). So if you want to make them like we do in Denmark, and always have done, you need to put a piece of apple in every one of them. When they're done cooking on one side put a small piece of skinless apple in to the middle, turn them around with a knitting needle to finish cooking them on the other side. You can also use applesauce instead. Time to eat them, dip them in your favorite jam (we use jam from nordic berries like strawberry, my favorite), then dip them in icing sugar, eat and enjoy. We're not only eating them at Christmas but at any occasion. More traditional Christmas cookies are ``Klejner (don't know what to call them in english)´´ and ``Pebernødder (peppernuts)´´. I'll post recipes later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
582 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
I am also Danish. My Grandma taught us to break open the "ball" while still warm or hot and dip in brown sugar. mmmmm She used a crochet hook to turn them over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2000
Very light. Delicious! I have owned a pan for many years but never used it until today. It was a very easy and delicious recipe. It is best to use a knitting needle (really!) or a pointed stick to turn them. A fork made too many holes and wasn't as easy to get them to turn right. My pan may have been smaller, used less oil and batter in cup. Preheat pan, and keep temp. constant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2003
My mother was danish and we all loved our special meals of Aebleskiver. When she passed away I got her pan, but didn't know how to use it until I found this recipe. My brother & I prepared it for our families on Christmas morning and it was just like mom used to make! It will now be part of Christmas morning family tradition in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Columbia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This batter tastes wonderful but DO NOT USE OIL in each indent...especially that much. I have the typical sized aebleskiver pan and they turned out to be a bunch of little grease balls..they aren't supposed to have so much of a fried texture. Use a little bit of butter instead, and make sure the pan isn't too hot (medium to low heat). Since mine is a heavy cast iron pan it retains the heat really well and it if you have the heat too high it'll cook them unevenly and can be a bit messy. GREAT recipe other than that though, we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison S.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
We never used Aebleskiver's for Advent but did have them as a special breakfast on New Year's Morning and loved them with a dolop od Raspberry jam in the middle and warm Raspberry sauce over the top, or powdered sugar. Also, a little to much oil, try using a pastry brush with butter, works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Queenluan
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
Great recipe, I had to order my pan in US because we don't find them in France. Fill in aebleskiver with blueberries, yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queenluan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
Aebleskivers have been my family's favorite New Year's breakfast treat for years.I have three pans so can make a lot at a time! I use a long toothpick or skewer to turn them. We eat them with warm, cinnamon applesauce. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
I love this recipe and it has become a family favorite over the years it is absolutlely fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2000
Being Danish my family has loved this recipe for years! It wouldn't be New Year's eve without it! Good with both powered sugar or jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States