Aebleskiver Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
I've had very good results using this recipe. I think beating the egg whites and folding them in is what makes the difference. My daughter loves making these and does a better job turning the 'skivers than I do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
My husband had an aebleskiver pan when we were married and I've been hooked ever since. We eat them with syrup, jam, pudding, or just about anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I was looking for an aebleskiver recipe with buttermilk and this fit the bill. I substituted applesauce for the butter and then used butter instead of oil in the pan. Worked great. I also filled mine with a bit of jam. Not sure about using two tablespoons of batter for each one. I used one tablespoon for each and they were the perfect size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emsdettener Koch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Emsdetten, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
Found an aebleskiver pan at a local thrift shop...I was the only one who knew what it was since I grew up near Solvang, CA, home of Arnie's Famous Aebleskivers. So the first time I made this was a total flop, because the cast iron pan was not seasoned yet. I have found that for this recipe to work for me, the pan has to preheat for 20 min or so (Put the pan on, then mix up the ingredients) - also, I have to put oil in the cups each time I start a new batch of 7 balls. The knitting needle approach works best for me. I wait for the edges to look a little dry, then turn the doughball 1/4 turn, allowing the next bit of batter to spill out and cook. They aren't perfectly round like experts make, but they're getting there, the more often I make these. This has become our special Saturday morning breakfast. I need two pans now, to make it go faster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin-Andy Harder Oliver

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
Some of my fondest childhood memories center around my Great Grandma making these for us. I have inherited her pan but have lost her recipe. This is pretty close and is delicious! If you haven't tried this yet, it is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starr.Gazer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
I'm trying to learn about the Danish culture and my family. Growing up my mother would make Aebleskiver for breakfast every weekend and it is similar to this recipe. My favorite way to eat it is with syrup, powdered sugar, fruit and orange juice. Velkommen Venner! Welcome Friends in Danish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Ralston, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
Wonderfull!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mischiefsgirl
Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Living In: Atascadero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
yum yum.. however we also call these pancake balls and eat them for breakfast with butter and syrup over the top. We serve it with bacon or sausage and cut fruit.. Must try!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
These are perfect. I am also danish and like the other reviewer I use a knitting needle to turn them. I love to serve these to my kids friends after a sleepover, its a real treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefLes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Queenluan
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
Great recipe, I had to order my pan in US because we don't find them in France. Fill in aebleskiver with blueberries, yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queenluan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States