Aebleskiver Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 1, 2008
Gluten-free flour conversion: 1/2 c white rice flour, 1/2 c cornstarch, 1 c brown rice flour, sifted together. No need for xanthan gum or guar. Everything else the same...I did also substitute soymilk soured with 1 tsp lemon juice for the buttermilk. This converted beautifully - the whole family didn't even realize it was gluten-free!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
I made this recipe tonight- just like stated, except for the buttermilk I used 2 T vinegar and filled the rest of the measuring cup with milk. That is the only substitution I made- and they were fabulous! My dh bought a pancake puff for me and I looked around online for a few recipes. This one was what I was looking for and didn't disappoint!!! Not one person complained at all, they gobbled them up fast. I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Texas, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Fluffy and tastes great. Simple ingredients always on hand. I use the powdered buttermilk. Filling: tart cherries or blueberries. I have tried several recipes for aebelskivers and this is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This is a good recipe for a dish that we've been making for years. I would suggest that you don't use a fork to do the turning, as it rips the Aebleskiver. A skewer or knitting needle has done the job for years for the Danes, so why change? Once you get the hang of it, you'll be flipping these over in record time. Also, butter gives these a much better taste and texture than oil....oil is too greasy for something this delicate and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Turned out well. Easy to flip. Next time I'll experiment with fillings...including maybe some red bean paste for a Korean flair. Recipe is not sweet as is, so a sweet-type filling would be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
so tender and light. not quite a donut, not quite a pancake, not quite a muffin. we ate ours with powder sugar, strawberries and whipped cream. the little balls are so cute and the batter is so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VIRGOVICKY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
A boyfriends mom introduced these to me first by making breakfast for us one day. I talked about them so much that my mom bought a pan for me on a trip to Solvang in Calfifornia. Since then (about 8 years or so), I made them every time we had company, and now I make them at least once a month for my boyfriend and I. If you don't have buttermilk, the boxed buttermilk pancake mix works well to. I use a long wooden skewer for turning, forks never worked out right for me. It's try adding a piece of sliced fruit in the center before turning. Break them open when still hot and your favorite toppings melt into yummy gooiness. My favorite toppings are butter, peanut butter or Nutella, my boyfriend loves cream cheese in his.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
Never use oil, only butter in the pan. The name in danish is Æbleskiver which means Appleslices (I know they're not slices, but that's the name). So if you want to make them like we do in Denmark, and always have done, you need to put a piece of apple in every one of them. When they're done cooking on one side put a small piece of skinless apple in to the middle, turn them around with a knitting needle to finish cooking them on the other side. You can also use applesauce instead. Time to eat them, dip them in your favorite jam (we use jam from nordic berries like strawberry, my favorite), then dip them in icing sugar, eat and enjoy. We're not only eating them at Christmas but at any occasion. More traditional Christmas cookies are ``Klejner (don't know what to call them in english)´´ and ``Pebernødder (peppernuts)´´. I'll post recipes later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
589 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Outstanding recipe!! I tried this with some twists you may like. I left the basic recipe intact as it's perfect. I put about a teaspoon of oil in each well of the pan instead of a tablespoon. I then caramelized some apples in a saute pan. I added the diced apple chunks to the batter after I poured it into the monk pan (abelskiver pan). I also made some with ham and cheddar, havarti, chocolate chips. Simply add whatever additional ingredients you like after you pour the batter in the wells of the pan (sprinkle them on top of the wet batter). Then let them cook per the recipe and flip and cook the other side. This is by far the best recipe I have tried for these treats!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Sutler

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
I've had very good results using this recipe. I think beating the egg whites and folding them in is what makes the difference. My daughter loves making these and does a better job turning the 'skivers than I do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States