Aebleskiver Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
Excellent recipe! First had these some 25 years ago in high school when a friend's mom made them. A couple of years later I fell in love with Solvang and bought a pan of my own. I've only made them sporadically over the years but this recipe is a keeper and will get these tasty morsels on our table more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Stone Strachan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
We are not Danish but this is a family tradition and has been through my husband's life...we searched for a recipe to be perfect and this is it! His mom gave me the pan when we got married, and we have been trying to figure out the best recipe since. 9 years and we found it! Light fluffy and delicious! you can use EVOL too, it doesn't have to be butter, that is not true! Figure out what you like...we make some with fruit inside, some without, we have all kinds of toppings for dipping (sugar, cinnamon-sugar, confectioner's sugar, maple syrup, whatever we have on-hand)...just figure out what your family likes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Great recipe! I would definately recommend dipping the hot aebleskiver in brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
Gluten-free flour conversion: 1/2 c white rice flour, 1/2 c cornstarch, 1 c brown rice flour, sifted together. No need for xanthan gum or guar. Everything else the same...I did also substitute soymilk soured with 1 tsp lemon juice for the buttermilk. This converted beautifully - the whole family didn't even realize it was gluten-free!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
I made this recipe tonight- just like stated, except for the buttermilk I used 2 T vinegar and filled the rest of the measuring cup with milk. That is the only substitution I made- and they were fabulous! My dh bought a pancake puff for me and I looked around online for a few recipes. This one was what I was looking for and didn't disappoint!!! Not one person complained at all, they gobbled them up fast. I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Texas, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Fluffy and tastes great. Simple ingredients always on hand. I use the powdered buttermilk. Filling: tart cherries or blueberries. I have tried several recipes for aebelskivers and this is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This is a good recipe for a dish that we've been making for years. I would suggest that you don't use a fork to do the turning, as it rips the Aebleskiver. A skewer or knitting needle has done the job for years for the Danes, so why change? Once you get the hang of it, you'll be flipping these over in record time. Also, butter gives these a much better taste and texture than oil....oil is too greasy for something this delicate and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Turned out well. Easy to flip. Next time I'll experiment with fillings...including maybe some red bean paste for a Korean flair. Recipe is not sweet as is, so a sweet-type filling would be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
so tender and light. not quite a donut, not quite a pancake, not quite a muffin. we ate ours with powder sugar, strawberries and whipped cream. the little balls are so cute and the batter is so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VIRGOVICKY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
A boyfriends mom introduced these to me first by making breakfast for us one day. I talked about them so much that my mom bought a pan for me on a trip to Solvang in Calfifornia. Since then (about 8 years or so), I made them every time we had company, and now I make them at least once a month for my boyfriend and I. If you don't have buttermilk, the boxed buttermilk pancake mix works well to. I use a long wooden skewer for turning, forks never worked out right for me. It's try adding a piece of sliced fruit in the center before turning. Break them open when still hot and your favorite toppings melt into yummy gooiness. My favorite toppings are butter, peanut butter or Nutella, my boyfriend loves cream cheese in his.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States