Aebleskiver Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by MyMomentaryFancy
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Great basic recipe, especially if you are going to be filling yours with apples, cream cheese filling, preserves or other choice fillings. My experience with the first batch went really well with the taste being plain and somewhat "eggy" but still very good with powdered sugar on them. Before filling the pan again, I added a tsp vanilla, two tsp more of sugar and a dash of pumpkin pie spice. I made two with chopped pecans inside and drizzled with carmel topping along side some whipped cream (canned - admittedly) Wow what a difference. This is the recipe I will continue using - definately a big thank you to the contributor :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyMomentaryFancy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I had great success with these. I experimented with the temp. of the stove top and had the best results around medium to medium-low heat. Certainly not difficult and delicious to make. I didn't bother filling them with anything (no jams, chocolate, or caramel pieces this time) and added about 1/2 teaspoon each of cinnamon and cardamom to the batter--traditional Dutch flavorings from what I understand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
These were delicious! I love this recipe! I didn't have any buttermilk ... in fact, I was totally out of regular milk ... but I DID have 3 hungry kids, so I used 1 cup homemade plain yogurt and 1 cup reconsituted evaporated milk plus 1 tsp lemon juice. I'm sure they're just as delicious with the buttermilk, but am offering this substitution in case anyone can benefit from it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
My family loves these. We break from the Danish tradition and sometimes substitute these for pancakes...even though these are not actually pancakes. I have this fancy cast iron Aebleskiver pan in my kitchen that just calls out to me every now and again. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
You can also use a skewer to turn them ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Great recipe - I added a filling of sweetened cream cheese by dropping a 1/2 t of cheese into the batter before turning them. I think we will try a little blueberry jam in the centers next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This has been a favorite treat in my family for years. We do the topping a little different. If you haven't tried it yet do so! Its so yummy and more healthy then syrup. Take two cans of peaches and blend them up to look like sauce. (NO CHUNKS) use that as your syrup and for a real treat, whhip up some heavy whipping cream....YUMMY! That is my favorite way to eat aebleskivers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Excellent recipe! I was raised eating Aebelskivers on special occasions and this is just the BEST recipe I've ever used. We added 2 teaspoons of vanilla and 2 teaspoons of cinnamon, which was just the right touch. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Great recipe! I like how the flavor by itself isn't super strong allowing it to be a medium for filling or toppings. I used a Lodge cast iron ableskiver pan, and wooden chopsticks to turn them with success. My experience with pancakes and waffles are limited so I wasn't sure on what heat setting on a gas stove so I used medium low and medium. I guess I'll experiment more with temperature and oil amount for the exterior texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TXFoodie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Best way to eat these is to fill them with sausage crumbles and Havarti cheese then top with maple syrup... AMAZING! In Denmark they sell these in the shops in bags frozen for convenience, not bad...but nothing like those made at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Poznan, Greater Poland, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States