Aebleskiver Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
We halved the recipe, and out of necessity substituted brown sugar for white (we had already made a batch of brown sugar by adding 2 Tbs. molasses to 1 cup white sugar) and homemade buttermilk (1 Tb. apple cider vinegar to 1 cup milk and let rest for 5 minutes). So good! We used vegetable oil, but next time we'll try butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I use this recipe all the time! I love aebleskivers and when I need some I use this. I've changed it up a bit a few time but for the most part I use it the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
These were very good with powdered sugar on them, however I would suggest increasing the sugar to 2 Tablespoons. We had these in Pella IA and I remember them being sweeter than these were. I made some regular, then added a bit of peanut butter to some and added some Nutella to some. All were excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANDY1876

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lost Nation, Iowa, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Canola oil works just as well as butter. MMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
If I *ever* get the hang of properly turning these, I'll make over and over again. Only giving a 4 as the oil is not necessary - I used Pam with no sticking problem - I just can't get them to set properly after flipping. Made horrid mess trying to add applesauce so don't recommend. Added cinnamon (lovely) - had no buttermilk, but regular milk worked just fine. Also forgot to add butter with no adverse effect on taste. Will keep trying. Vanilla would be great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I am glad for the reviewers who advised using a small amount of butter instead all the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
My first time out with my new pan. I wasn't too thrilled with this recipe, I'm going to keep looking and experimenting. I added 1 tsp of vanilla and 1 tsp cinnamon, which only made the batter a darker color that wasn't as pretty. I doubled the sugar and it still wasn't sweet enough. I did not put oil into the wells, simply sprayed with Pam and they didn't stick at all. I filled the cups up to the top and they came out perfectly round on both sides, nice shape, now just need to find the perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Cee

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This was really pretty easy and SOO delicious! Added 1 tsp of cinnamon to batter. We filled them with blueberries, then strawberries, then mini Reese's cups. Yum! We dipped them in powdered sugar, and brown sugar/cinnamon mixture. Put the extra in the fridge, so hopefully they are still good tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Just a little tip: My great-grandmother added a teaspoon of cardamom to the yolk-mix. It gives a warm, fragrant flavor to them. It sounds odd, but you should try it. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This recipe was really fun. The pan can be found at amazon or Williams sonoma. I am not much of a breakfast person, but thought my family would enjoy these. Followed directions except, I sprayed the pan with veg oil. I also used a 2 tlbsoon ice cream scoop to fill each pan indention. Byw baking powder and soda are pretty much the same thing, not sure why a recipe would have both. I think this indicates that this is a realold ffamily recipe. Turning with the skewer was fun too. Tastes about like fluffy pancakes, but fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States