Aebleskiver Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I use to have these at a harvest fair growing up and remember loving them dearly. I was putting away the food processor after making latkes last night and came across my mother's pan. That prompted me to make a special breakfast for my family. Absolutely delicious! Took the advice of others and added 2 tsp. of both vanilla and cinnamon. Didn't have buttermilk on hand, but added 2 Tbs. white vinegar to just under 2 cups milk. Worked perfectly. I thought the batter was a bit bland when cooking, but adding apple sauce and powdered sugar at the end worked charms. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
These were really good, they have a great flavor! Love putting nutella, strawberries, or apples with cinnamon sugar on them as the fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAC2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Used Gluten free flour and almond milk for a great gluten free breakfast!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Have used Grandma's recipe for years, very similar. Agree to use butter in pan, not oil. Also experimented with electric cake pop pan, worked pretty well, but like the cast iron better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Very greasy. Needs more sugar than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
First time trying this recipe and it came out beautifully. I had trouble turning them because I am not coordinated that way ... but they still tasted great. I used the Raspberry Sauce on this site to top them and it too was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Whisk the egg whites after the batter so they don't get runny and the batter can rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Great recipe! It's become a Sunday morning tradition in my house. Kids love em. I usually add some fruit filling like banana or apple, and a touch more sugar. Also, it makes WAY more than 30. More like 45-50.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rensselaer, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Childhood memories of aebleskivers in Solvang, CA come rushing back when I make these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
My husband said that we don't need to wait until Christmas to have these again! :) I added a teaspoon of cardamom for a Scandinavian flavor. Delicious! I served these with the choice of blueberry sauce, powdered sugar and/or cream cheese frosting. (I warmed the frosting so it was more like a glaze. I bought the Lodge cast iron pan from Amazon. I did not put an entire T of butter in each well, probably a teaspoon or less each time and they turned out very well. I turned them with a chopstick. I think I'll go have another! So yummy. If you don't have an Aebleskiver pan, the batter would be great as a waffle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States