Adzuki Bean Mango Stir Fry with Cilantro Lime Coconut Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
This was awesome! I substituted 2 cans of black beans (rinsed) for the adzuki beans, though. One of the best recipes I've ever used!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Not as tasty as I imagined it while reading the recipe. Definitely needs seasoning, either salt or maybe some soy sauce in the sauce. The grocery I stopped at didn't have adzuki beans so I used small red beans. Black beans might have been a better sub. I added half a thinly sliced jalapeno too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
My husband and I really enjoyed this dish. The seasoning was excellent, but we both thought it was a bit too salty. Next time, I will reduce the soy sauce by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
This was very tasty! I substituted the Adzuki beans for tofu and I left out the green pepper only because I didn't have one handy. I also added cumin & coriander to the sauce. I think the cumin is very important. It was delicious though, I was licking my bowl clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
The way this sauce tastes with the mango is unbelievable. Found red adzuki beans (sometimes just called red beans) at the asian grocery store and had to soak/boil them. Next time will just use canned black beans for the time savings. We served this over rice. Will definitely make again - especially the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMat

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Essex, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I feel badly giving such a negative review, but I thought the flavors were strange, they didn't meld well, and the sauce was too thin. I really don't know what I would do to improve upon this. I did execute exactly as written, except my aduki beans were dry so I soaked them overnight before cooking. Maybe this just wasn't suited to my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Glen Mills, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Sounded way better than it tasted. I'm always nervous when a recipe doesn't call for salt and this one definitely needed it. The sauce actually tastes fantastic (once properly seasoned), but doesn't seem to go well with the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smallu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Delicious! Especially if you're a fan of Thai food. I wonder if some of the other reviewers gave it a lesser rating because they weren't that familiar with coconut milk based sauces. But as for myself, it was a great combo of savory and sweet. I added maybe a teaspoon of salt to the sauce, and I didn't have agave nectar so I substituted it for sugar, but other than that followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I absolutely love the combination of lime, coconut milk and ginger, so I knew I had to try out this recipe. I used canned coconut cream which is thicker and richer than regular coconut milk. Also used canned red beans as time didn't allow for a trip to the Asian store. Definitely agree that the sauce needs a salty element - I added fish sauce and a pinch of salt. The mango I used was slightly underripe, which I think worked well. Husband wasn't crazy about it, but my 2 year old and me scarfed it down. Served it with plain steamed white rice. Thanks, Tori!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
This was amazing! I used dry adzuki beans (soaked overnight then simmered for 45min-1hour) and forbidden rice. The contrast of the black rice with the bright stir fry was beautiful! We loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Garlic Chicken Stir Fry

See how to make a quick stir-fry with plenty of garlic and crunchy veggies.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States