Adrienne's Tom Ka Gai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Kaloons in Saugus MA has an excellent soup. They use shrimp instead of chicken with lots of fresh mushrooms. Awesome !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Love it! Delicious!!! Doubled the recipe and still all was well. Good idea about keeping lemon grass in large pieces. Was a bit warm...husband thought perfect, one child too hot. May have to adjust red pepper slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Manchester, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I tweaked the recipe a bit to make it more authentic... Get galangal instead of ginger root, very different taste. And instead of "Chopped" lemon grass, I cut it in 2-inch sections and use the back of the knife to chop it, so that it is intact on the outside but broken on the inside, this way it's also easier to fish out later. Instead of Bok Choy I added mushrooms and some fresh jumbo shrimps. The result is better than the ones I've had in a Thai restaurant. Thanks for posting this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I'm giving this a 4 right now, although it has potential to be a 5. I made some changes as follows: used 5 thick slices of galangal and no ginger, plus I had to use that lemongrass paste as I couldn't find any fresh lemongrass. I wasn't able to add any kaffir lime leaves either, so I squeezed in the juice of one lime that was lurking in the bottom of my vegetable drawer. I used 1.5 tsp red pepper, corn cut off one lone corn cob (also lurking in vegetable drawer!), and two chicken breasts....everything else I did as stated in the recipe. Chicken broth would have been nice...lime leaves are a must have. I'll try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
I changed this recipe a bit but it was really good and is a great idea for a meal! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by okinawan cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
My boyfriend and I loved this soup! The only problem I had was I addded extra coconut milk (per suggestions) but not enough chicken broth. It became rather thick, so it was less a soup. It was so delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This soup was very good. I made it exactly as it said
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Granite Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
HOLD BACK ON THE RED PEPPER! This was an okay recipe but way too much pepper. It really ruined my soup. I would also recommend adding part chicken broth instead of one of the cups of water and a pinch of lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
I have to write a review based on the first reviewer who writes about making real tom ka gai. I have to say this was the first tom ka gai recipe I made a long time ago. Out of curiosity I researched it online and found this recipe wasn't very authentic, but I REALLY love it. Here are the changes I have made to make it a little more authentic, but you still keep the essence of a GREAT receipe I use less water and more coconut milk, usually 4 cans. I add kefir lime leaves. I don't use galanga, I use ginger, but this is a personal preference. I don't care for galaga, but I love ginger. I also use baby bok choy instead of regular, another personal preference. Also, be liberal with the spices, and the fish sauce! I usually will do rounded measurements of them spices. I keep the rest of the ingrediants the same, also I usually double the recipe, and the amounts I've given are based on that. I have had this soup at the best Thai restaurant in the city I live in, and I think that the alterations I have made to this recipe make min better. P.S. This is my FAVORITE soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I've been following this recipe for the past few years and have always had success. I use shrimp instead of chicken, because it tastes more like the one we get at the local restaurant. Also, I can do without the bok choy, but it doesn't ruin the flavor too much. I agree with the other review that a squeeze of lime in the soup at the end really brings out the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States